CCleaner v5

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by anon, Nov 25, 2014.

  1. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    4,614
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    One of the main reasons I use CC is that it is very easy to protect cookies:

    CC>Options>Cookies

    I have never seen CC delete a protected cookie.
     
  2. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,667
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I was happy not having Easy Clean. It is a wasted feature on my machines and will never be used. Avast are doing to CCleaner what they've done to their AV - making it more bloated.
     
  3. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,900
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    Is it safe to delete the trackers found by easy clean.
     
  4. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    27,857
    CCleaner Mac v1.16.570 (June 18, 2019)
    Announcement
    Download
    Version History
    macOS
    • Added full support for macOS Mojave
    Browser Cleaning
    • Safari: Updated Cache and cookie cleaning
    • Firefox: Improved Session cleaning
    Bug Fixes
    • Fixed an issue where the users password is requested multiple times when cleaning
    • Crash fix when cleaning System Logs on OSX Mountain Lion
    • Fixed an intermittent issue causing crashes when cleaning cookies
    Settings & Preferences
    • Updated privacy text
     
  5. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,219
    https://www.ccleaner.com/ccleaner/download
     
  6. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,717
    Location:
    USA Trump Town
    thank you
     
  7. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,900
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I just looked at my WFW rules and saw that ccleaner and comodo dragon browser both have 2 inbound rules. Why would only these 2 apps have rules.
     
  8. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,438
    Location:
    .
    Maybe, for CCleaner .... look at Task Scheduler > CCleaner Update
    png_471.png
     
  9. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    13,229
    Location:
    Here
    Apps themselves probably added those rules during installation. IDK why they would need them though. They certenly don't need them to update themselves and to browse internet. I just block CCleaner with firewall rules.
     
  10. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    12,582
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    The new version of CCleaner behaves weirdly inside the sandbox (Sandboxie), it causes high CPU usage and there is no support for Vivaldi. It has become way too bloated, I'm done with it.
     
  11. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,219
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2019
  12. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    767
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
  13. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,219
    Ask your pc security set-up then. I have no problems with majorgeeks.com
     
  14. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,172
    No problems here. The Builds page has just been updated: https://www.ccleaner.com/de-de/ccleaner/builds
    I downloaded the latest portable version a couple of minutes ago.

    Edit: I also tried MajorGeeks - no problems here, either.
     
  15. kaljukass

    kaljukass Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Posts:
    148
    Here are all original links
    Code:
    CCleaner CCleaner 5.60.7307
    
    Standard
    https://download.ccleaner.com/ccsetup560.exe
    
    Slim
    https://download.ccleaner.com/slim/ccsetup560_slim.exe
    
    Professional Edition [New UI]
    https://download.ccleaner.com/professional/ccsetup560_pro.exe
    https://download.ccleaner.com/ccsetup560pro.exe
    
    Technician Edition
    https://download.ccleaner.com/te/ccsetup560_te.exe
    
    Business Edition
    https://download.ccleaner.com/be/ccsetup560_be.exe
    
    Business Edition MSI x64
    https://download.ccleaner.com/be/ccsetup560_x64_be.msi
    
    Business Edition MSI x86
    https://download.ccleaner.com/be/ccsetup560_x86_be.msi
    
    Portable
    https://download.ccleaner.com/portable/ccsetup560.zip
    
    CCleaner Bundle or professional plus as some people know it
    (it is ccsetup560_pro.exe (CCleaner) + dfsetup222_pro.exe (Defraggler) + rcsetup153_pro.exe (Recuva) + spsetup132_pro.exe (Speccy))
    https://download.ccleaner.com/professional/CCleanerBundle-560-Setup.exe
     
  16. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    767
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    Thanks!
     
  17. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,900
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    If you install the ccleaner updates manually, they make it hard to find the free version on the site.
     
  18. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,219
    It's on the front page. Where is the difficulty?
    https://www.ccleaner.com/
     
  19. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,900
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    Click on check for updates from the app and see how easy it is.
     
  20. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,172
    I know how "easy" it is.;) Anyway, I stopped using the installer version a couple of months ago. Now I use the portable version, which I download from the Builds page whenever an update is available - https://www.ccleaner.com/ccleaner/builds.
     
  21. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,219
    "If you install the ccleaner updates manually [from the app], they make it hard to find the free version on the site."

    I see.
     
  22. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    27,857
    Avast bundles buggy preview web browser with CCleaner, leading to predictable nightmarish results
    July 17, 2019
    https://betanews.com/2019/07/17/avast-bundles-buggy-browser-with-ccleaner/
     
  23. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,219
    https://www.ghacks.net/2019/07/17/beware-ccleaner-may-install-ccleaner-browser/
     
  24. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    46,731
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  25. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,221
    The CCleaner-ZIP from builds page is already portable, fishing for stupids at p-apps again.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.