CCleaner v5

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by anon, Nov 25, 2014.

  1. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,436
    Sure ;-) but in this respect CCleaner isn't the worst. In addition if you decline all bundled installation during the first CCleaner install, they won't be offered anymore.
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Is the paid version also bundleware?
     
  3. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,805
    One product it is Bundleware or not.
    Imo, quality defines that, not the quantity.....
    i.e. : one woman is pregnat or not. She is not less pregnant / more pregnant!

    With every update to the latest version, it comes again and again.
     
  4. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,436
    No, not in my case. I have been using CCleaner on Vista long time and presently on Win 8.1 and they (bundled installations) never came back. ;-) There is probably a reason why they come again in your case. :p
     
  5. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,805
    Yes, it is.....
    File name: ccsetup503pro.exe: (Win32/Bundled.Toolbar.Google.D potentially unsafe)
    ----------------------------
    Free:
    File name: ccsetup503.exe: (Win32/Bundled.Toolbar.Google.D)
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2015
  6. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    The free is one thing, but when it is in paid... That is bad
     
  7. winapp2

    winapp2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1
    Do you mind my asking at what point (if it's identifiable) your CCleaner scan crashes? Just want to make sure it's not on my end (winapp2.ini)
     
  8. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,072
    Yes, and it has been for years, so it's nothing new.
     
  9. Feandur

    Feandur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Posts:
    419
    Location:
    Australia
    Slim version of 5.03 is now out at Piriform Link
     
  10. Feandur

    Feandur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Posts:
    419
    Location:
    Australia
    Ah yes, you are quite right anon...didn't see the post.

    cheers,
    feandur.
     
  11. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,436
    As for the bundlewares, if you don't read during installation then you cannot complain. Personally I have no problem with bundled installations unless I can choose what I want to install. It's simple how it is.
     
  12. 142395

    142395 Guest

    I firstly thought that but even after I removed winapp2, still crashed just after I clicked cleaning, so it's not due to winapp2, and strangely even after I re-installed latest, and after uninstall latest and install 5.02 still crashed.
    Maybe sth broken in update. I rollbacked by my system backup and currently 5.02 works fine, will update to latest soon.
     
  13. 142395

    142395 Guest

    Well, bundleware is bundleware, how one feel about it is another problem and it all differs from person to person.
    In my case, I used slim version and have never seen bundle appeared in update, i.e. I never needed to uncheck sth tho I always carefully see install prompt.
    Only concerning is it started to phoning home from ver. 5 and firstly it occurred even when I unchecked monitoring.
     
  14. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,805
    +1
    :thumb:
    File name: ccsetup503_slim.exe => Detection ratio: 0 / 57
     
  15. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,436
    Agree.

    Well, phoning home and what? Piriform is a highly trustworthy company and is highly rated for their applications. In this respect don't let paranoia to reign you.
     
  16. 142395

    142395 Guest

    Tho I trust Piriform much better than Cheetah, Baidu, and IObit, again phoning home is phoning home regardless of trustworthiness which is somewhat subjective. Fortunately, it appears now if one disabled monitoring and auto update it won't phone home.
     
  17. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Usually, I upgrade CCleaner about twice a year. I don't upgrade immediately every time a new version comes out. And CCleaner is a program that I have never had to uninstall to upgrade. Once I install it in my computers, it stays. When I am ready to upgrade, I just run the installer over the top and forget about it.

    If the slim version is out, thats the one I use. But if not, the times that I have run the regular installer over the top, I never get to see Chrome being bundled with the CCleaner installer. I think the only time that I had to refuse installing Chrome was the first time I installed CCleaner. I never had any kind of issue like Yuki and the one or two times that it/I deleted something that perhaps shouldn't, it wasn't hard to make things right again.:)

    Bo
     
  18. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,304
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi 142395
    Disabling All Monitoring and Auto Updates in CCleaner does not stop it trying to gain Internet Access. [I have to block it with my firewall]

    Take Care
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  19. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,308
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I still use V4.19. Is the GUI any better now and does it work good.
     
  20. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    957
    Location:
    usa
    About that Ccleaner 5.03 update.
    I was able to update without ANY issues Ccleaner on my Windows 8.1 and Windows 7 computers, but
    I cannot update Ccleaner to 5.03 on my Windows 8 computer.
    I'm always getting the same message in a pop-up window.
    I've tried to run that update as a regular user and as Admin, but the result is the same message in the pop-up window:
    Ccleaner5.03-issues.PNG
     
  21. 142395

    142395 Guest

    Thanks for correction, do you know what exactly it sends to Piriform?
     
  22. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,304
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi 142395
    Sorry I have no idea why or what it is trying to send? :doubt:

    Take Care
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  23. 142395

    142395 Guest

    That's okay, thanks for reply.:)
     
  24. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,436
    From the nature of monitoring function I guess it sends running processes, especially processes belonging to applications which are cleaned by CCleaner. But if you want to be sure, post your query at Piriform forum.
     
  25. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,805
    http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download

    v5.04.5151 (25 Mar 2015)

    - Added Include items option to ignore newer files.
    - Improved Opera history cleaning.
    - Improved Skip UAC functionality.
    - Optimized system restore detection routine.
    - Improved small screen size support.
    - Improved localization and language support.
    - Minor GUI Improvements.
    - Minor bug fixes.
    ------------------
    http://www.piriform.com/blog/2015/3/25/ccleaner-v504
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.