Can´t update NOD32

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by POS, Oct 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. POS

    POS Guest

    the NOd32.ch site shows 1.1266, but my nod is at 1.1265 and says it´s up to date...
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,013
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Try till it updates!!

    :D
     
  3. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Mine is still at 1.265, wouldn't worry about it to much just yet ;) :D

    Cheers :D
     
  4. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    I'm sure it will come in time - the update itself is pretty large - so you have to be a little patient - only so many bits can flow at any given moment... ;)
     
  5. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Got it via manual update a couple of minutes ago.:D
     
  6. Mover

    Mover Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Posts:
    165
    Which server ? I'm still getting the 'NOD32 is uptodate' message.
     
  7. thepacingman

    thepacingman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    All I get is this message by both automatic and manual updates

    27/10/2005 11:36:14 AM Update Update attempt failed (Server connection failure)
     
  8. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Don't know? I just clicked update now several times a few minutes apart and the last time it worked.o_O
     
  9. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Mine just updated a few minutes ago, so all Eset are doing is balancing the load on their servers, have a little patience, you will see it ;) :D

    Cheers :D
     
  10. Mover

    Mover Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Posts:
    165
    I think it specifies which one in your Event Log
     
  11. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Just checked and all it says is the virus signature database has been sucessfully updated.
     
  12. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,013
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada

    What is your Update Version Number? 1.1265 or 1.1266



    :)
     
  13. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    1.1266
     
  14. Jaska

    Jaska Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Posts:
    98
    Mine didn't update either until I manually chose server u4.eset.com. Then there came an engine0 update about 1 meg in size.
     
  15. worldcitizen

    worldcitizen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Posts:
    530
    This has always been a real problem with Eset. For God's sake when will they ever get their act together? I had NOD for 2 years and constantly had updating problems which I got fed up with after a few infections and got rid of the program.

    If Eset are really serious about protecting PC's then they must address this issue once and for all. I've had many AV's but none of them ever gave me constant updating problems like NOD 32. It should happen automatically without hassel and function as smooth as silk but judging from posts and my own personal experience of having NOD for 2 years, Eset just seem to plod along with overloaded servers and never seem to fix this issue.

    They worry more about getting awards than making life easier for their customers and that really stinks. Eset should show much more consideration towards their customers and fix their servers to function properly as do most other AV Companies. I have had Kaspersky Pro for a year and never once had update problems so far or had to fiddle with trying out different servers and the same with Bit Defender and Norton.

    This is a problem that has gone on for years with NOD 32 and I haven't had a similar problem with any other AV so why don't they start to act a bit responsibly and do something to kill this problem once and for all? Ocassional problems are acceptable but this has always been a constant problem I have had with NOD over a 2 year period and NOD, if it is to be considered seriously must update smoothly without user intervention or hassel. I can't see why Eset can't do this properly if most other companies can.

    Dave
     
  16. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    There have never been problems with the update servers for the last 1 year. If you have the update server set to automatic selection, NOD32 will cycle through all of them until it finds one from which an update can be downloaded (there's more than 90% chance it will be the very first server NOD32 tries). If a server is under maintanance, NOD32 will still be able to update from the others.
     
  17. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,618
    Location:
    Canada
    As for myself I cannot complain. Except for this week where the big update was delayed, it works perfect. It is set to "Automatic".:)
     
  18. worldcitizen

    worldcitizen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Posts:
    530
    That's always been my sticking point with NOD 32 for me.

    I can accept that rarely viruses do get through even the best AV's because no AV is perfect but with the updating I had issues connecting to their servers and getting updates and I had my settings on automatic. Now and again it just wouldn't update and also occassionally asked for my password again although I had already entered that.

    I rate it among the best and still would like to use it again one day but I'm a 'set it and forget it' person and just don't have the time or patience to fiddle with settings and having to do manual updates too often.

    The other problem was once when some viruses got through I was advised to change the default settings and I've just got no time to go through the recommended settings by Blackspear is it to secure my PC. I just want to install the program and be left alone and it did become quite confusing going through many dialogues changing settings when all I really wanted was for it to install and do it's job to protect me without any hassel.

    Maybe it's improved I don't know but configuring it is somewhat confusing and once when I did configure it according to some instructions I found here it scanned so slow and my PC slowed down a lot so I lost the benefit of it's low resources. It was a catch 22. If I had it on default some nasties got through. If I turned it up my performance got zapped.

    Dave
     
  19. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I don't know why you continue to rehash this Dave. The plain and simple fact was you had a Trojan fly past the world’s best Trojan software, as well as Nod32, so this in turn points to your security lacking, as in the number 1 fact that you did not have a software firewall installed. But let's not go down this road yet again, and again, and again, and again... :rolleyes:

    Blackspear.
     
  20. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    agreed - anyone wanting "perfect" security should expect to have a "perectly deep pocket" - if not, there will be some kind of limitation somewhere... and just about EVERYONE needs to start getting used to the fact...

    aint NOTHING perfect in this world...
     
  21. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    Amen to that.
     
  22. xp_1839

    xp_1839 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Posts:
    67
    The fact that they do not allow manual download of virus definition file and update problem can turn many away from using NOD32 anitvirus!!!

    Time to dump NOD32 too?

    Long user of Symantec antivirus, dumped it as virus definition file grow too big and resource-hog,

    Then Avast antivirus, dumped it due to false positive and problem with transparent proxy,

    Now using NOD32 and having this update issue!

    Folks at NOD32 need to get their act together before users flee!


    :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:
     
  23. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Most Nod users will not be going anywhere. In fact I know one chap who uses a particular Av (cough ) Antivir, and posts in the Other Av forum who would kiss the ground for one with as few update problems as Nod (if it were free).:D
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2005
  24. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    Wow,how bad has it got to use a free antivirus,and use it as a yardstick to nod
     
  25. worldcitizen

    worldcitizen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Posts:
    530
    Blackspear

    The issue being discussed on this thread is NOD 32's updating problems and that is what I wish to speak about and try and resolve or make Eset more aware of the need to improve their service.

    Infiltration is always on the cards if updating is not taking place smoothly/regularly and that is the secondary related issue I raised.

    I constantly had problems with NOD 32's updating mechanism over a 2 year period and wanted to mention this on this forum in the hope that Eset notice this and try and improve their updating service.

    I have never had issues with many other AV's updating service as I had with NOD's so if most other companies can provide a reliable service then I would expect Eset to do the same as infections can occur if a machine cannot update at a critical time.

    Dave
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.