Can't update Nod 32-2

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by big ed, Aug 17, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. big ed

    big ed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Posts:
    3,137
    Location:
    Ye Olde New England
    Yo,

    Have Nod32 v2 reinstalled after puter prob. Have tried to update a number of times but as the updates are over 7mb I have had no success (dialup 30kbps + or -). Alsas and alack...what to do?

    Naked in Nanking, big ned

    PS...I don't read too good either.....wrong forum....please redirect!
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2005
  2. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Do you mean that the modem connection craps out before the updates can finish loading? Just keep at it, I guess. I can't really think of anything better. :doubt:
     
  3. big ed

    big ed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Posts:
    3,137
    Location:
    Ye Olde New England
    Yeah,I got that ole Pony Express dialup.
     
  4. beetlejuice69

    beetlejuice69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    780
    Could you maybe use a "KeepAlive" program?
     
  5. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Open up Outlook Express or the mail client that you use, and have it check for mail every 3 minutes, then minimize the email client. This will keep your connection alive by polling your ISP's server for new mail.

    Hope this helps...

    Cheers :D
     
  6. big ed

    big ed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Posts:
    3,137
    Location:
    Ye Olde New England
    Well, I wasn't able to figure out how to do the 'mail' thingy so I guess I'll try the 'keep alive' one. My understanding is that some ISP's get cranky when pinged!

    Thanks
     
  7. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Open up Outlook Express

    Tools.

    Options.

    General Tab.

    Send and Receive.

    Change "Check for new messages" to 3 min.

    Click on "Apply".

    Minimize Outlook Express to your Task Bar.

    Cheers :D
     

    Attached Files:

  8. bid ed

    bid ed Guest

    Uh Mr Spearperson,

    Went an did the Outlook thingy. (That was tough, duh)

    I must have other issues cause after about 10 min screen went blank and I had to ctl-alt-del twice to reboot. Can I dwnld what I need on another puter to a cd and then update mine?

    Idling in Indianapolis, big ed
     
  9. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    Big ed pm me for large download details
     
  10. bid ed

    bid ed Guest

    Well guys,

    I figured I should post again to let people know that I (w/no small help) finally got things going. Don't really have a clue as to what did it but webyourbusiness and Blackspear got me going in the right direction. I don't think I ever solved a tricky (for me) problem this quickly.

    Many thanks!

    Play on, big ed
     
  11. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    That is good to see, and thanks for letting us know.

    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.