Can't update Nod 32-2

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by big ed, Aug 17, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. big ed

    big ed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Posts:
    3,137
    Location:
    Ye Olde New England
    Yo,

    Have Nod32 v2 reinstalled after puter prob. Have tried to update a number of times but as the updates are over 7mb I have had no success (dialup 30kbps + or -). Alsas and alack...what to do?

    Naked in Nanking, big ned

    PS...I don't read too good either.....wrong forum....please redirect!
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2005
  2. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Do you mean that the modem connection craps out before the updates can finish loading? Just keep at it, I guess. I can't really think of anything better. :doubt:
     
  3. big ed

    big ed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Posts:
    3,137
    Location:
    Ye Olde New England
    Yeah,I got that ole Pony Express dialup.
     
  4. beetlejuice69

    beetlejuice69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    780
    Could you maybe use a "KeepAlive" program?
     
  5. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Open up Outlook Express or the mail client that you use, and have it check for mail every 3 minutes, then minimize the email client. This will keep your connection alive by polling your ISP's server for new mail.

    Hope this helps...

    Cheers :D
     
  6. big ed

    big ed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Posts:
    3,137
    Location:
    Ye Olde New England
    Well, I wasn't able to figure out how to do the 'mail' thingy so I guess I'll try the 'keep alive' one. My understanding is that some ISP's get cranky when pinged!

    Thanks
     
  7. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Open up Outlook Express

    Tools.

    Options.

    General Tab.

    Send and Receive.

    Change "Check for new messages" to 3 min.

    Click on "Apply".

    Minimize Outlook Express to your Task Bar.

    Cheers :D
     

    Attached Files:

  8. bid ed

    bid ed Guest

    Uh Mr Spearperson,

    Went an did the Outlook thingy. (That was tough, duh)

    I must have other issues cause after about 10 min screen went blank and I had to ctl-alt-del twice to reboot. Can I dwnld what I need on another puter to a cd and then update mine?

    Idling in Indianapolis, big ed
     
  9. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,661
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    Big ed pm me for large download details
     
  10. bid ed

    bid ed Guest

    Well guys,

    I figured I should post again to let people know that I (w/no small help) finally got things going. Don't really have a clue as to what did it but webyourbusiness and Blackspear got me going in the right direction. I don't think I ever solved a tricky (for me) problem this quickly.

    Many thanks!

    Play on, big ed
     
  11. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    That is good to see, and thanks for letting us know.

    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.