Can't update 9.0

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by risman, Jan 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. risman

    risman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    I have True Image v9.0 build 2,289 and am trying to update to build 2323, but no matter where I go in the My Account section of the Acronis website, I get the registration screen (and I am already registered).
     
  2. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    When you click on "My Account" you will be taken to the "Register Now" page. However, at the far right of this page you should see a section marked "Already Registered?" where you sign in with your registered email address and password. Depending on the resolution setting of your monitor, you may have to scroll the registration page to the right in order to see it.

    Apologies in advance if I'm stating the obvious.

    Regards
     
  3. risman

    risman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    I figured that part out shortly after I posted this, and felt pretty foolish! However, even going in as already registered, there are no updates listed under my registered products. The instructions say, "please make sure that you first registered your product on the product registration page. Once your product is registered, it should be available in the list of your registered products." So I go to the product registration page and it asks me for a serial number. Well, I don't recall ever seeing a serial number (I ordered and downloaded off the web, and I have no record of ever seeing a serial number.) So I still can't get the update.



     
  4. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    When you ordered the full version download you needed to provide a valid email address. You should then have received a confirmation email, which will also have contained the required serial number. Surely you must have received this serial number because without it you wouldn't have been able to install Build 2289?

    Regards
     
  5. risman

    risman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    It wasn't on the confirmation note I found. However, that was an upgrade so maybe it was on an earlier version and I have it filed away somewhere. Will have to check it out when I get home from work today. Thanks much for your help.
    Bob
     
  6. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello Bob,

    Just to add that even if you purchased an upgrade you will have received another serial number in order to be able to install the new version. Hope you manage to find it or, if not, some other proof of purchase that you could email to support@acronis.com.

    Regards
     
  7. risman

    risman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks. I finally did track down the serial number, downloaded the update, iinstalled it (it said it installed normally), but even after rebooting, it still shows the older build is installed. So I don't know if Acronic simply forgot to change the build number in the newer build, or if somethiing else is going on. I've sent a note to this effect to Acronis support.
     
  8. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Glad you finally managed to find your serial number. Please note that TI Build 2323 doesn't install properly over a previous version or build. You therefore need to uninstall the previous version/build prior to installing 2323. The bug is well documented in this forum and Acronis are aware of the problem.

    Regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.