can't run spyblaster

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by 1221patty, Jun 17, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 1221patty

    1221patty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Posts:
    8
    When I try to run the spyblaster I get this message

    A required .DLL file, MSVBVM60.DLL, was not found.

    I don't have a clue what this means. Can someone please assist me.
     
  2. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Pattie,

    You'll find the answer as well as the solution over here ;).

    regards.

    paul
     
  3. 1221patty

    1221patty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Posts:
    8
    Thanks. I went to the page and tried downloading the news .DLL file.
    Now I get the same message with this added error 1157
    This is getting pretty frustrating. What am I doing wrong?
    I also tried uninstalling and deleting and then putting spyblaster back on and the .DLL file. Still no help.
     
  4. MCT

    MCT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Posts:
    300
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 17, 2004
  5. Erik Ayala

    Erik Ayala Guest

    Patty, it seems that you still do not fully understand about that file. Let me explain. A .dll file stands for "dynamic link library", it is a Windows file that programs use for all their various functions. The Visual Basic .dll these guys are having you install is required for MANY programs, DO NOT DELETE IT!! Even if you decide not to keep Spyware Blaster. Hope this helps your understanding of software a little bit more.
     
  6. 1221patty

    1221patty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Posts:
    8
    Oops sorry for the misunderstanding. I did not delete the .dll file only the Spyware Blaster.
     
  7. 1221patty

    1221patty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Posts:
    8
    Not sure if this makes a difference but I am running plain Windows 98 NOT 98ME.
     
  8. MCT

    MCT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Posts:
    300
    im not sure if your post is saying u have it fixed or not.. but u should have done the following...

    *Install the Visual Basic RunTime Files
    *Installed Spyware Blaster
    *Updated the database
    *Enabled all protections

    By the way... spyware blaster works on all Windows OS's i believe, it works for me, ive tested it on.. 98,98SE,ME,2k,XP,2k3 (havent tested it on 95, but i think it works)
     
  9. 1221patty

    1221patty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Posts:
    8
    No I do not have the problem solved.
    Not sure how to update the database.
    Not sure how to enable all protections.
    Any advice would be very much appreciated. TIA
     
  10. MCT

    MCT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Posts:
    300
    hi :D

    when u load spyware blaster, under the section Quick Tasks

    Click: Enable all protections (2 enable all protections :p)
    Click: Download Latest Protection Updates (2 update the database)

    hope it helps :D
     
  11. 1221patty

    1221patty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Posts:
    8
    I am finally doing a HAPPY DANCE. I got it to work. The other day I saw where someone had downloaded a library. So I did it too. Today everything worked beautifully. Persistence pays off. Thank you to everyone who gave me directions and support.
     
  12. MCT

    MCT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Posts:
    300
    glad you got it figured out

    regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.