can't install the nod32 antivirus rolled back at finishing

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by bittoo22, Oct 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bittoo22

    bittoo22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    i cant install the new nod32 antivirus on my pc. at finishing line it get rolled back saying 'could not write the value name to key\software\eset\eset\security\currentversion\schduler\1.'
    varify that you have sufficient rightto access to that key, while i am administrator on this pc..even log in as a administrator but cant install the antivirus.

    can you please suggest
    thanks in advance.

    reg.
    Vijay
     
  2. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    New York City
    Did you have an earlier version of NOD32 installed on your computer?
     
  3. nonoise

    nonoise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Posts:
    322
    Follow this instructions here.
     
  4. Avil

    Avil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Posts:
    20
    I'm having the same problem, but I have done everything the link tell me to, uninstalled in safe mode, deleted files in program files etc. But it still wont finish.
    I haven't had nod32 on this computer before, only Norton which I uninstalled before.

    Now the key value thing doesn't appear, it just doesn't finish the installation, without reporting what the error might be.

    Christina
     
  5. ccomputertek

    ccomputertek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Posts:
    371
    Does it roll back @ compiling data or when it's installing the drivers, before or after that ?
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2009
  6. Avil

    Avil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Posts:
    20
    Well, it works a long time during the status: compiling data (almost as nothing happends) and after that I saw installing drivers during half a second or something, then it starts rolling back.
     
  7. ccomputertek

    ccomputertek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Posts:
    371
    you can also go here http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...56-D8FE-4A91-93CF-ED6985E3927B&displaylang=en

    After you have ran the eset uninstaller given at the previous link.

    Then copy subinacl.exe from the program files directory it installs to, and paste it in the \windows\system32 folder and then put this:

    @echo off
    subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE /grant=administrators=f
    subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CURRENT_USER /grant=administrators=f
    subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT /grant=administrators=f
    subinacl /subdirectories %SystemDrive% /grant=administrators=f
    subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE /grant=system=f
    subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CURRENT_USER /grant=system=f
    subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT /grant=system=f
    subinacl /subdirectories %SystemDrive% /grant=system=f
    @Echo =========================
    @Echo Finished.
    @Echo =========================
    @pause

    into an empty notepad and save it as " reset permissions.bat " and run it from administrator account, then reboot and try to install again.


    This sounds complicated, but will take 2 seconds to accomplish.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2009
  8. Avil

    Avil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Posts:
    20
    Should I use the uninstaller even though I've never managed to install it?

    I don't understand what subinacl.exe is and where I can find it. Under my programs there is only one folder (ESET) and in there is only some .dat-files.
     
  9. ccomputertek

    ccomputertek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Posts:
    371
    Or download the windows installer cleanup utility " google it " and look for something from Eset and let it remove it.

    Or find this file on your system " INFCACHE.1 " and delete it, reboot and follow steps above, file INFCACHE.1 will be created again.... one of these solutions has to work.


    Subinacl has to be downloaded and installed from microsoft, pay attention to the folder when you run the setup and copy the file I said into system32 directory.
     
  10. ccomputertek

    ccomputertek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Posts:
    371
    Also when you save this in notepad:

    @echo off
    subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE /grant=administrators=f
    subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CURRENT_USER /grant=administrators=f
    subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT /grant=administrators=f
    subinacl /subdirectories %SystemDrive% /grant=administrators=f
    subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE /grant=system=f
    subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CURRENT_USER /grant=system=f
    subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT /grant=system=f
    subinacl /subdirectories %SystemDrive% /grant=system=f
    @Echo =========================
    @Echo Finished.
    @Echo =========================
    @pause

    you have to select type save as " all files " instead of type " text document "
     
  11. Avil

    Avil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Posts:
    20
    Ok, I've used the windows installer clean up but there wasn't anything there from Eset, only some remains from Norton.

    I have now a new problem that came up at the same time. when I download files, e.g. the subinacl.exe file, my computer says it has been downloaded, but it's not saved anywhere, even when I choose for it to be saved on the desktop. Usually I can just double click in the list where all my downloads usually end up, but not now.
     
  12. ccomputertek

    ccomputertek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Posts:
    371
    What operating system are you running ? have you tried to run a search on your computer for the file " subinacl.msi " to see if it was placed somewhere else on your hard drive ?

    subinacl.msi is the installer for subinacl.exe
     
  13. Avil

    Avil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Posts:
    20
    OK, I ran the notepad file and it seems to do something. It says modified....and failed = A LOT. Should it be like that?

    (Done: X Modified: X Failed: X)
     
  14. Avil

    Avil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Posts:
    20
    Yes I tried it, didn't find it. I have Vista Home Premium.

    But I have installed it now, but I don't understand why it wont save as usual.
     
  15. Avil

    Avil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Posts:
    20
    It's finished now. It says something about RegSetKeySecurity Error for some stuff.
     
  16. ccomputertek

    ccomputertek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Posts:
    371
    Should not have alot of security reset errors, no.Now delete INFCACHE.1, it's in the \windows\inf folder of vista and reboot, try to install Eset again.
     
  17. Avil

    Avil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Posts:
    20
    Ok, it says I have to be qualified (?) to delete it (authority) and can't delete it.
     
  18. ccomputertek

    ccomputertek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Posts:
    371
    A couple or a few items, not sections, is normal to not be reset.Are you logged in with an admin account ?

    Just go with whatever subinacl has reset so far and continue with the other steps described here.
     
  19. Avil

    Avil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Posts:
    20
    Yes, I am admin.

    I´ll just try to reboot now then and try to install it again!
     
  20. Avil

    Avil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Posts:
    20
    It doesn't work. Same as before.
     
  21. ccomputertek

    ccomputertek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Posts:
    371
    Did you do everything I described ? eset uninstaller, deleting of " INFCACHE.1 " ?
     
  22. Avil

    Avil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Posts:
    20
    No, I couldn't delete incache.1, I didn't have the authority to do it, even though I'm logged in as an admin. I'll try to right click on the file and add some authority directly under the file instead.

    So I am doing this in this order:

    1. Use uninstall from eset in safe mode
    2. delete ESET folder under program files
    3. Check the subicle file, still under system32
    4. Running the notepad file
    5. Delete the infcache.1 file
    6. Reboot now
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2009
  23. ccomputertek

    ccomputertek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Posts:
    371
    Mabe on vista home premium you have to disable User Account Control for those commands and subinacl.exe to work.

    I just deleted INFCACHE.1 on my vista system and had no problems, subinacl.exe should set file permissions so your able to delete, mabe user account control is preventing you, mabe you should temporarily disable it in the windows control panel from the user accounts section.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2009
  24. Avil

    Avil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Posts:
    20
    I've done exactly as you said on all points, but it still doesn't work. I'm thinking of trying another anti-virusprogram instead...
     
  25. ccomputertek

    ccomputertek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Posts:
    371
    There are other ways, but for the average windows user they are not feasible.There is also the setupapi log and other ways to generate reports for what is going wrong with windows installer and installing NOD32.But all of those should have been fixed with the instructions I provided anyway.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.