Can't get the backup to work

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by primal23, Sep 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. primal23

    primal23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    When I run it in windows XP, there are a lot of files that need to be closed to work, and so I tell it to restart my system, and when itd does, the Drive Backup 9 starts, and every time it fail, with a cannot start process. I am sorry I didn't have the exact error message, forgot to write it down. Any clues? If the exact message is needed, I can do it again.
     
  2. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
    Hello primal23,

    If your Windows XP is 64bit, there are certain limitations depending which version of Drive Backup you have. Create a recovery media and boot to the recovery environment to perform a backup. This will overcome the 64bit problem if that's the cause. In addition, Paragon should not have to restart for a live backup as VSS eliminates that problem. Check under Tools > Settings that Microsoft Shadow Copy Services is selected. If it is already on Microsoft Shadow Copy, change to Paragon Hot Processing as there's a conflict with your VSS service.

    Check to see if your VSS services are enabled: Start > Run > "Services.msc" and start "Volume Shadow Copy".

    Disable any other imaging or firewall programs ie Acronis, Nero, Zonealarm.

    I would also run a check disk of your hard drive. Start > Run > "cmd" > "chkdsk c: /r"

    Running the backup from the CD once will tell you that the disk is healthy, and there's a program or windows conflict. At least we know where to work from one successful point to another.
     
  3. primal23

    primal23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    That was it, VSS was off, changed it to start automatically. Thank you! :)
     
  4. primal23

    primal23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    new issue lol

    I just got error 0x1200e
    It says error source Hard Disk Manager.
     
  5. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
    Hello primal23,

    0x1200E indicates there's a "Internal error during HotBackup". Run a chkdsk of your system with parameter /r and try switching to Paragon Hot Progressing in Tools > Settings > Hot Progressing.

    Possible hard drive failure.
     
  6. primal23

    primal23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks again! That was it, changed the HD and now its working smoothly. Thanks again! :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.