can't get OSes back on OS selector

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by decimus28UMO, Apr 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. decimus28UMO

    decimus28UMO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    my problem is that when i first installed OS selector it found all my operating systems(XP Pro on one hard drive, Vista on a SATA raid 0). Both loaded the Vista dual boot entry, which was on the MBR of the XP drive. So i deleted the Vista and XP entries in the OS selector and restored the MBR for XP and Vista on there own drives(i unpluged the other drive when I did this so Vista wouldn't install the vista dual boot menu).
    Then i could boot up to either OS by selector their drive in the BIOS as first.
    OS selector would not find them again after this by the MBR.
    I tried uninstalling OS selector and reinstalling and that did not help, so I tried uninstalling again after deleting BOOTWIZ folder on the two drives. I still can't find the two operating systems.
    I tried boot floppy and that loaded vista, so i deleted that in the OS selector and tried to find XP and Vista again, but it still can't find them.
    I reinstalled XP and then Ubuntu and now OS selector can find them but still not vista.
    So now I have only XP and Ubuntu(GRUB) as OS's in the OS selector but not vista or "boot floppy". Also when i try to turn off OS selector, no operating systems show, so it wont let me turn OS Selector off.
     
  2. decimus28UMO

    decimus28UMO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    interesting note, tried install Disk director again in XP but it wouldn't install OS selector because it doesn't think i have any operating systems
     
  3. decimus28UMO

    decimus28UMO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    got boot from floppy back under OS -> new, still no vista tho
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    You can "force" Vista into the OSS menu by adding it to the BOOTWIZ.OSS file. See this thread: Vista disappeared in dual boot (especially Post #14). You may need to enable the Disk Order option if Vista needs to be the booting drive.
     
  5. decimus28UMO

    decimus28UMO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    i got the entry added using that moethod but when i try to boot it, it says it can't find ntdlr
     
  6. decimus28UMO

    decimus28UMO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    had the wrong partition selected, for some reason xp had 2 active partitions and i selected the wrong one
     
  7. BillClark22

    BillClark22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    I'm running into similar issues, OSS won't recognize my Vista Ultimate installation. On the manual entry, exactly what parts am I supposed to enter into the file? All the red, blue or both? Confused. Thanks

    Bill
     
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Bill,

    This is the Vista entry. If the OS ID Value is already used, you'll have to use a different number:
    Code:
    		<id[COLOR="Purple"][B]3082839084[/B][/COLOR] boot_as_ms71="0" boot_as_os2="0" boot_cd_entry="0" [COLOR="red"][B]boot_partition="1184590092"[/B][/COLOR] bootname="bootsect.sys" icon="icon_sys_vista" language="english" lba="1" name_template="Vista Manual" nthide="0" os_type="ntvista" use_manual_disks_order="0" write_boot="0">
    			<partitions>
    				<id[COLOR="Red"][B]1184590092[/B][/COLOR] active="1" />
    				<id2626278031 hidden="1" />
    			</partitions>
    		</id[COLOR="purple"][B]3082839084[/B][/COLOR]>
    The RED part was just referencing the Vista partition. The BLUE part was the floppy entry which may or may not be in your file.

    You partition numbers will be different and your hidden partition(s) (if any) will be different.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.