Can't delete backup files

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Boofer, Feb 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Boofer

    Boofer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Port Hueneme, CA
    My current version is TI 10, but for this situation it is not running.

    I want to delete a previous backup but I think the "explorer" mode of TI is getting in the way. I am able to view the detailed content of the backed-up files in Windows Explorer. I get this message when I try to delete them: "It is being used by another person or program. Close any programs that might be using the file and try again." TI is not running at this time.

    Nothing else is running that would have control of the backup files. Is there a "terminate-and-stay-resident" mode to TI?

    -Boofer-
     
  2. Phenny

    Phenny Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    33
    that sounds similar to the problem with the media shell extension of
    windows accessing for preview
    did you really make sure all acronis stuff is terminated in the task-
    manager?
    TI install several sub-programs into autostart plus an auto-starting
    service (look for timonitor* and acronis* or similar named .exe files
    runing in the background.
    It's safe to kill them off, as TI will start the necessary ones again upon
    opening the program.
     
  3. mfabien

    mfabien Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Posts:
    227
    Location:
    Montreal
    Activate Acronis, in the menu select Backup. Set your backup to the point where you need to name your new *tib backup file. At this point, existing backup files should be listed under the drive where backups are housed.

    Click an old backup and at the top of the structure tree and to the left, you have a Red X to delete.
     
  4. Boofer

    Boofer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Port Hueneme, CA
    Excellent!

    That does the job. Thanks. :thumb: :thumb:

    -Boofer-
     
  5. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    If you clicked on the backup file so that you can see the contents, Explorer is the program using the file.

    Instead of clicking on the backup first, Right-click on it and select Delete.
     
  6. loop

    loop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Hi

    I have the same problem and BOTH ways to handle it dont work.

    When I try mfabiens way to do it, it still says the file is in use by another
    program, but actually it isn´t....

    I am using Vista Ultimate btw.

    Any help except booting up in DOS-Mode and delete then.... ?? :gack:
     
  7. Texcritter

    Texcritter Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,985
    Location:
    Teesside, North East England
    Unlocker might do it ( I don't know if it works in Vista )

    http://ccollomb.free.fr/unlocker/
     
  8. loop

    loop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    @Texcritter

    Thanks for your help, but even Unlocker cannot solve the problem....:ouch:
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello loop,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Please use the Microsoft Utility "Process Explorer", available here free of charge to check what process is using the archive file, and terminate that process.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.