Can't create Secure Zone

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Oso, Sep 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Oso

    Oso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Hi

    I have two major problems with Acronis®*True*Image*Home® Version 10.0 (build*4'942)

    1) I can't create the Secure Zone, i.e. the creating process goes well, however, if I check for the Secure Zone there is none. EvenTrue Image gives the message no Secure Zone found.

    2) Trying to boot my computer with the bootbale CD I get the message "USB Drive does not accepting new address (error = -100)".

    I have Windows XP (SP 2), a HP Pavilion 5060 desktop computer.

    Anyone has an idea, what the problem is?

    Regards
    Oso
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2007
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Re: Can't create Secure Zine

    Don't know about the SZ problem, but if you have an external drive, you do not have to use the SZ.
    As for the boot CD not seeing the external, this cd uses Linux and there may not be drivers for your usb chipset. The workaround is to build a BartPE cd that has the True Image plug-in incorporated in it.
     
  3. Oso

    Oso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Re: Can't create Secure Zine

    Secure Zone:
    Could it be that on the C drive, where I try to install SZ, there are two partitions: first one D named HP Recovery, second one is named with C.

    Not seeing CD:
    Could you give me a link where they show how to proceed to build a BartPE cd that has the True Image plug-in incorporated in it. I am not a specilaist in computer!
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Re: Can't create Secure Zine

    The BartPE Guide can be found here.

    If you MUST use the SZ, did you try to create if from Windows or from the TI CD?
     
  5. Oso

    Oso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Re: Can't create Secure Zine


    I tried it from windows under TI. I followed the instructions of the video you find on www. acronis.de. I suspect that the video was made for version 9.1, however the link for version 10 is to this video.

    Many thanks for the link!
     
  6. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Re: Can't create Secure Zine

    If you have not done so, please research more info about the Secure Zone and Startup REcovery Manager as found in the Useful Forum Thread links below. :)
     
  7. Oso

    Oso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Re: Can't create Secure Zine


    Thanks GroverH! I have consulted acroinis web page. Nothing about the problem of SZ.
    About the bootable CD MudCrab has sent a workaround which schould do the job. I will try this next week. However SZ is a remaining problem in my case!

    Oso
     
  8. m4p

    m4p Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    Re: Can't create Secure Zine

    Nice links. Thanks for posting them as I'm having similar problem to the OP.
     
  9. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Re: Can't create Secure Zine

    My reasoning for pointing you to the Useful Forum Threads link--- Secure Zone & Startup Recovery Manager was to acquaint you (should you not know) with some of its features & limitations.

    You only choice for placement of a secure zone is Drive C--your system drive--providing you have sufficient free space. Your current used space on Drive C will compress to about 60% of its current size. Secure zones should not be placed on external drives and your diagnostic Drive D has no free space.

    When booting from the REscue CD, it is preferable that the usb external drive already be connected and seen by Windows before booting from the CD. If usb drive not recognized by the Acronis Rescue CD, then, try connecting the external drive prior to the your selecting the "Full Version" option on the Rescue CD. I have seen your usb error before when the usb drive has not been powered up. Some usb drives has some auto shutdown or standby settings which may cause difficulty until the usb drive is properly connected both via cable and power. Also try connecting usb cable directly to connector on rear.

    If your secure zone problems continue, I would completely un-install and re-install TrueImage Home again. The view of your drives in Disk Management gives you a clear picture of structure of your drive.
     
  10. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Re: Can't create Secure Zine

    Hello Oso and m4p,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please download the latest version of Acronis drivers, unpack the archive and install unpacked MSI package.

    If the issue persists, please try creating Acronis Secure Zone using Acronis Bootable Rescue Media.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  12. Pipskateer

    Pipskateer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Re: Can't create Secure Zine

    Hello,

    Is this solution also recommended for TI v11 build 8027? I'm running ATI on a 200GB HD w/plenty of room left on a Toshiba notebook running TL-58 (1.9ghz) AMD dual core processor, w/Vista Home Prem. I've used ATI since version 6.0 with the exception of versions 7 and 10 on my desktop. This is the first time I've ever had any trouble creating Secure Zone since it was introduced. This is also the first time I've run it on a laptop.

    I've tried to create SZ only in Windows so far, but not from the boot disk. Please advise...thanks!





     
  13. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    We would like to inform you that the most probable reason for such issues is that there are card readers attached to the system and it is recommended in first place to detach or temporary disable all of them in the computer's BIOS setup. Also we would like to point to that fact that our Development Team is already aware of such issues and they will fix it as soon as possible.

    Oso,

    In order to have the opportunity to try using Acronis Bootable Media for the Secure Zone creation we recommend you to submit a request for technical support via web form with the details of the issue and a link to this thread. We will definitely provide you with fully working bootable media.

    Pipskateer,

    No, the latest Acronis True Image 11 Home has the drivers of a newer version than in the package that can be downloaded from the provided link. In case you have the problem 100% similar to Oso's it is recommended to try creating Acronis Secure Zone from the bootable media if detaching card readers from the system doesn't help.

    We are always at your service should you have any further questions.

    Thank you,

    Best Regards,
    Alexey Bogomolov
     
  14. Pipskateer

    Pipskateer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Thank you for the response, I will try to see if this works.

    Take care!



     
  15. Pipskateer

    Pipskateer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    I've just tried to use the Bootable Media to install Secure Zone. The bootable media will not bootup at all, and yes, I know how to enable the CD/DVD drive as the boot drive in bios. This is a brand new, fully functional Toshiba laptop model A215-S7444 with a 200gb HD, 2gb DDR2 SDRAM, TL-58 AMD Turion 64 X2 dual core 1.9GHZ processor running Windows Vista Home Premium. There are 4 USB ports and also a built in multi-card reader. I also have a 2GB flash USB drive, but do not have it installed at this time. I've attempted to disable the card reader, but only found options in the bios to disable legacy USB support, which I did. No mention was made in the bios of the card reader specifically.

    I also attempted to install Secure Zone from within Vista after disabling USB support in the bios. This was unsuccessful.

    What do I do now?

    Thank you!
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2007
  16. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Pipskateer,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please try booting with "acpi=off noapic" parameter as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    If the issue persists, please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly:

    Please create Windows system information and Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    If you are not able to create Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) then please do the following:

    - Boot your computer from Acronis Bootable Rescue Media and press F11 key when the selection screen advising you to select either "Full", "Safe" or "Boot into Windows" option appears.
    - After you get the "Linux kernel command line" prompt, remove the word "quiet", click on the OK button and choose "Full Version".

    When the screen stop scrolling please write down the output information you receive (last 5-10 lines), or use a digital camera to make shots of the output screen. You can use Shift+PgUp and Shift+PgDn keys to scroll the screen manually.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  17. Pipskateer

    Pipskateer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Dear Acronis Support,

    I am now able to successfully boot into graphic mode from the bootable rescue media CD using the "quiet acpi=off noapic" command. However, I still cannot create the Acronis Secure Zone from here or from the Windows version of Acronis. The process seems to initiate and Acronis acknowledges that I have almost 70GB of disk space to create the SZ, but when I proceed, I get the message box that says Acronis was unable to create the SZ on my disk. I never get the opportunity to tell Acronis how much of my 70 GB I would like to allocate to the SZ before the process terminates with error.

    I don't know how to proceed at this point to give you any more information from the sysinfo.txt file. Please advise and thank you for your help.

    This forum is NOT sending me email notifications upon replies here even though I have clearly selected that option for this thread. I will have to check here periodically for your reply.



     
  18. Pipskateer

    Pipskateer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    I just wanted to post the resolution to my particular problem with TI 11 and my inability to create the Secure Zone.

    I downloaded the Acronis report utility and sent it to Support as requested. There were some disk errors and they asked me to run a CHKDSK on my drive. Apparently that was the only problem I was having and I am now able to create the SZ and backup to it with verification.

    My thanks to Acronis Support for helping to resolve this problem! I have used Acronis since version 6 (except v7 and v10) and I am very pleased with the results. Some folks complain about support being slow or other problems. But I challenge anyone to suggest a better product and support team combo. Nothing is perfect, but I've never failed to get positive results with Acronis and their support. Acronis is one of the best on a short list of software products I recommend to others. :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.