Can't create partition because not enough freespace?

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by eloper, Aug 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. eloper

    eloper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    39
    "The boot configuration data store could not be opened. Access is denied."

    In terms of it being a clean install....it was an overwrite of my old install (so I have windows.old in my vista partition).
     
  2. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    You get that response when running as a normal user. You need to open the command prompt window as an administrator (right-click on "Command Prompt" and choose "Run as administrator"). You should get a UAC prompt. Acknowledge it, and an administrative command prompt window will open and the bcdedit command should work.

    That might explain it. The boot files in the Windows partition were from the old installation and the ones in the Dell Diagnostics partition were just added by the new installation.
     
  3. eloper

    eloper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    39
  4. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    OK, I see what's going on. Your latest installation did as expected and placed the Vista boot files in the active partition. But I'll bet that the BCD from your initial installation that is located in the Vista partition is correct for booting Vista. It's easy enough to find out. Start an elevated command prompt and post the output of the following command which lists the contents of the BCD located in your Vista partition:
    Code:
    bcdedit /store c:\Boot\BCD
     
  5. eloper

    eloper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    39
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,485
    Location:
    California
    Both the booting and Vista partitions are set to C: for the BCD on the C: drive so you should be okay to set the C: (Vista) partition Active and have Vista boot properly. It may not be worth the trouble to remove the FAT16 partition unless you also plan to remove the Recovery partition as the wasted space is minimal.

    You can also reinstall Vista if you want. Just make sure that the Vista partition is set Active before installing. You shouldn't need to reinstall, though.

    When you check Disk Management, it should show the C: partition as the System partition if it's booting off of it.
     
  7. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    I second MudCrab's comments. I would do this:

    1. Boot to the Disk Director CD
    2. Hide the Dell Diagnostic partition
    3. Set the Vista partition active
    4. Confirm that Vista still boots correctly.


    Paul:

    While the diagnostic partition does not occupy much space it is consuming a primary partition slot. If deleted then eloper could use primary partitions for Vista, XP, and OSX; thus simplifying the boot manager's job.
     
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,485
    Location:
    California
    Yes, it would free up a Primary slot. XP and OSX are shown on Logicals in the screenshot, but maybe they are just labeled and not installed. I only did a quick read through of the thread.

    If the first two Primary partitions are deleted, I would recommend setting Vista's BCD parameters to boot for all entries if not doing a reinstall. That way, resizing or moving the partition won't stop it from booting.
     
  9. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Correct. The partitions are presently empty and in need of some further massaging before installing any other operating systems.

    Good suggestion.
     
  10. eloper

    eloper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    39
    I made an image of my FAT16 and Recovery drive using True Image just incase...

    MudCrab: Vista+OSx+Ubuntu are still not installed...so removing the FAT16 and Recovery drives would seem to make sense if installing on a primary makes booting simpler. Should I set Vista's BCD parameters to boot before I delete them, or is that not important?

    k0lo: Trying that now...
     
  11. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,485
    Location:
    California
    I assume you mean XP isn't installed since you're booting Vista.

    I would go ahead and change the BCD parameters to boot. However, if you're just going to repartition and reinstall, it really doesn't matter for this test.
     
  12. eloper

    eloper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    39
    Ah yah...

    And on that note, apparently Acronis just told me it did not find any hard disk drives.....(I tried switching to ATA as well...same problem).
     
  13. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,485
    Location:
    California
    Was this when booted to the Full Mode version from the TI DD CD? If so, Have you tried the quiet acpi=off noapic option detailed in Section II of the PLEASE READ BEFORE YOU POST thread?

    If the backup image is on an internal drive, you might also try the Safe Mode version from the CD.
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2008
  14. eloper

    eloper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    39
    quiet acpi didn't work....

    I'm using the Disk Director bootable media, should I be using True Image instead?
     
  15. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,485
    Location:
    California
    What are you trying to do with DD? If you're working on the partitioning, DD is the correct program to use. (I was going back and forth between the forums so the "image" reference was more of an automatic response to the "no drives found" error.)

    Did you try the Safe Mode version of DD?
     
  16. eloper

    eloper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    39
    I'm trying to hide the FAT16 partition.

    And, strike 3 in terms of stupid mistakes on my part, safe mode works.

    After hiding the FAT16, windows appears to boot normally, meaning it looks like it'll be ok to get rid of the FAT16.

    So at this point it looks like the plan is to:

    1. Remove FAT16/Recovery partitions (to free up primary spots)
    2. Boot Acronis, set partition XP is to be installed on to primary, hide Vista
    3. Install XP

    and then go from there?
     
  17. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,485
    Location:
    California
    First check that Disk Management is showing the Vista partition as both the Boot and System partition. Vista will boot from a Hidden partition. Also, you didn't say if you set the Vista partition Active. It should be Active and the FAT16 partition should be Hidden.

    If everything looks okay, set the Vista BCD parameters to "boot" and then test again. This way if the partition moves it will still boot.

    Next, continue with setting up the other partitions. I would suggest you create the XP partition and set it Active. Hide the Vista partition. Then, during the XP installation, let XP do a quick format of the XP partition. Once installed, you should be able to select which OS you want to boot by setting its partition Active and the other Hidden.
     
  18. eloper

    eloper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    39
    Alright, Vista was listed as Boot and Active, with the FAT16 hidden and it started with no problem. I'll set the Vista BCD parameters to "boot" now. If it still boots after that, I shouldn't have any problems with removing the FAT16 partition, correct? If that's the case, I'll go about getting rid of the FAT16 and Recovery partitions, I'll hide Vista/set XP to active through the boot cd, and then go through the process of installing XP.

    In terms of use of XP and Vista once I have them both installed, I'll need to make sure that one is hidden and the other is active at all times to avoid problems, correct? If the other OS isn't hidden, they'll become associated and throw everything off, yes?
     
  19. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,485
    Location:
    California
    The Vista partition should also show System in the list of attributes.

    The Active partition will boot. If the other partition isn't hidden, whichever Windows boots will assign it a drive letter. Otherwise, it shouldn't cause any corruption. Generally, it's best to keep the other OS partitions hidden.
     
  20. eloper

    eloper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    39
    It was listed as System as well, sorry for leaving that out.
    Also started up fine after setting the Vista BCD parameters to boot.
    Looks like it's time to get rid of the FAT16+Recovery, hide Vista, and install XP.
     
  21. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,485
    Location:
    California
    Okay. Sounds like you should be ready to proceed. I've got to call it a night, but I'll check the thread in the morning.
     
  22. eloper

    eloper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    39
    Appreciate the help very much, my laptop would likely be in pieces by this point if it werent for you and k0lo

    UPDATE: Deleted the FAT16 and Recovery partitions, Vista still boots, great success. Debating whether or not to begin installing XP now...bit past my bedtime. On that note, when I go to start installing XP, even with the Vista drive hidden it lists it at the beggining of the setup:

    H: Partition 1 (Inactive (OS/2 Boot Man 76803 MB (23452 MB free)
    C: Partition 2 (XP) [NTFS]

    Is this normal? Shouldn't the XP setup not be able to see the Vista partition in any way? I suppose I'll use this as an excuse to go to bed, and wait for a response. Don't want to have gone through all this, install XP, and find out that it still became associated with Vista.
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2008
  23. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,485
    Location:
    California
    It's been a while since I've installed XP with other hidden partitions, but I think they do show up. Just make sure the XP partition is Active and that you select the XP partition as the installation destination.

    Since the installer is giving the XP partition the C: drive letter, it seems be setup correctly. XP can't recognize Vista so it's not going to become associated with it.
     
  24. eloper

    eloper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    39
    Alright, thanks for the re-assurance. Beginning XP installation now, I'll let everyone know how that goes.

    EDIT: XP is up and running (aside from drivers and such)....onto Ubuntu and managing how everything boots now?
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2008
  25. eloper

    eloper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    39
    Few issues with this by the way....

    Vista doesn't boot in ATA mode
    XP doesn't boot in the original AHCI mode.
    XP doesn't find any ACHI/SATA controller drivers through windows update.

    Looks like I'll have to find the drivers myself, though I'm still not sure what my harddrive controller is?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.