cant create image correctly. how 2 fix?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jdzworld, Aug 10, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jdzworld

    jdzworld Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    this cpu seems to have an error when i try to create an image. i have v8.0 build 764. i create a rescue media disk then i restart to boot from it. when i goto create image, it gives me the following error: "failed to read from the sector 0 of the hard disk 0". i tried cancelling this stupidly(it took me to my c: partition) and it just ended up giving me a bad image after burning many disks. this is a serial ata hd and its brand new as of like 3 months ago. i have no probs w/ anything on this cpu. i did goto error checking and pushed "scan for and attempt recovery of bad sectors" but i still get this error. plz help.
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2005
  2. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    First, upgrade to version 903. The build you are using is very old, and the current build has many new drivers and fixes.

    After installing Build 903 and creating a new recovery CD, tell us what happened.
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
  4. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello jdzworld,

    This error message is normally due to having an empty flash card reader connected. If that's the case, then either disconnect it or insert a memory card into the slot before booting from the rescue CD and see what happens.

    It's been a long time since anyone reported this error, so you may well find that updating to build 903 and creating a new rescue CD overcomes the problem.

    Regards
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2005
  5. jdzworld

    jdzworld Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    thx every1 for the input. i found out last night(after researching on these forums) that i just needed to put a blank zip disk in my drive). i have now successfully created and verified an image. thx every1!!
     
  6. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Thanks for letting us know. Posting back with success or failure sorts out the wood from the trees and is a great help for other users with similar problems.

    Regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.