Can't Create Bootable CD-R

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Aragorn7, Feb 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Aragorn7

    Aragorn7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Just installed TI 9.0.2337 and can't create Bootable CD-R. All I get is "Error burning bootable CD-R/CD-RW".

    I've never had any problems with previous versions of TI when making bootable media. I have, however, recently added Roxio 7.5 Easy Media Creator, which works fine; so I am able to write to my media.

    This is a laptop running Windows XP sp2.

    Thanks.
     
  2. bVolk

    bVolk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    954
    Aragorn7,

    It's probably Roxio. You should prevent Drag-to-Disc running in the background while setting to burn the Rescue CD.
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Aragorn7,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    There are also several workarounds in case you cannot create Acronis True Image Bootable CD:

    1. Please make sure that you are using a blank unformatted CD-R or CD-RW disc, as other types of media cannot be used to create a bootable rescue CD.

    2. Boot into Safe mode (press F8 when Windows starts up and choose Safe mode to boot into) and then create Acronis True Image Bootable CD.

    3. Update any third-party CD-writing software installed on the computer to the latest version available for free on its respective web-site.

    4. One more workaround:

    - Eject any disc from the burner prior to starting the program;
    - Proceed until the program asks for a disc;
    - Insert a disc and then click the OK button to close the tray automatically.

    Thank you.
    --
    Tatyana Tsyngaeva
     
  4. Aragorn7

    Aragorn7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks bVolk but I uninstalled the Roxio Software and still had the same problem.

    Tatyana Tsyngaeva: Thankyou I will try your suggestions. I discovered I could create a bootable cd, but only on cd-rw, not cd-r. Do you have any ideas as to why this might be the case? I tried several cd-rs, but none worked.

    I will try your suggestions and see if this allows me to create a bootable cd on a cd-r.

    Thanks again.
     
  5. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi Aragorn7,

    If you normally have some form of UDF packet writing software installed (e.g. Roxio Drag-to-Disk or Ahead InCD) then you can permanently disable Windows XP's built-in CD recording function as it can interfere with TIs ability to create a rescue CD.

    So, as well as temporarily removing Roxio Drag-to-Disk (or whatever their packet writer is now called), also disable Windows XPs CD recording by opening "My Computer", right clicking on your CD/DVD recorder, selecting "Properties" and on the "Recording" tab unticking the checkbox labelled "Enable CD recording on this drive".

    Regards
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Aragorn7,

    If the none of the workarounds suggested by Tatyana and Menorcaman helps and you still can create Bootable Rescue CD on CD-RW media only then please provide us with the following information:

    - Create Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post;

    - Let us know the exact vendor and model of your CD-burner;

    - Describe actions taken before the problem appears step-by-step.

    Please also do the following:

    - Start command prompt (Start -> Run -> cmd);

    - Go to \Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\CDRecord folder;

    - Run "cdrecord –scanbus > scanbus.txt" command and collect the scanbus.txt file created.

    Please submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the information about your purchase of Acronis software (order number, e-mail, where did you purchase our product, etc.) and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.