Can't connect to specific Computer on Home Network

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by lankantech, Feb 18, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lankantech

    lankantech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Hi,

    I have Eset Smart Security v.4.0.467.0. installed on my main computer; however, I am having some problems connecting to my WHS 2011. I can connect to all other computers on the network, but Eset would not let me connect to my server. The server firewall is turned off, and when I disable Eset firewall/antiviurs then I am able to use the resources of my server(file sharing/print/etc..). I have allowed sharing in the subnet (192.168.1.0/255.255.255.0) my server is using 192.168.1.3.

    Is there anything else I have to do in order to access my server ?

    Any help would be great.
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    First of all, I'd suggest upgrading to the latest version of ESS 4.2.71 or 5.0.95 if you have a home user license purchased.
    Should the problem persist, enable logging of blocked connections in the IDS setup, reproduce the problem and then paste here the relevant records from your ESET firewall log.
     
  3. lankantech

    lankantech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks for your help. I wasn't aware that I can upgrade to a different version. I have upgraded to version 5.0.95. This version actually notified me that my server is being blocked. Upon start up I get this message "Detected Port Scanning Attack "Remote IP Address 192.168.1.3"" This is the ip of my server. What can I do to let this be allowed ?
     

    Attached Files:

    • Log.txt
      File size:
      154.3 KB
      Views:
      7
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Your server scans remote ports for some reason. If this is a desired operation, add the IP address of your server (192.168.1.3) to the list of addresses excluded from active protection in the Zone setup.
     
  5. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    place your network in trusted zone
    kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN2141
     
  6. lankantech

    lankantech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Thank you soo much guys. I overlooked the "active protection" sub menu.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.