Can't clean viruses...

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by michaelk, Jan 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. michaelk

    michaelk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Posts:
    5
  2. Happy Bytes

    Happy Bytes Guest

    It's not dangerous - it's only a hacktool.
    Next, it's in a ZIP file and cannot do any damage.
    Just delete the whole ZIP file if it only contains this hacktool.
    That's it.
     
  3. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    it's John the Ripper incase you forgot what it is, if you downloaded it keep it. most scanners i've used flag it i suppose incase a hacker put it there.
     
  4. michaelk

    michaelk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    Hi again!

    I know that it's only a hacktool but what concerns me is
    why the "Clean,Delete and Rename" are grayed out?

    Should it look like this?

    Any other test virus files I can download to see that
    my new nod32 installation really works?

    I ran the evaluation version before I bought the real one
    and allways thought that it's why the buttons are outgrayed...

    //Michael
     
  5. michaelk

    michaelk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    Tested again now with the eicar test virus

    http://www.eicar.org/anti_virus_test_file.htm

    Same behavior as before....

    Do you also get the same thing?
    (i.e. download the file and run scan&clean on it)

    hxxp://kalisz.homelinux.net/albums/watches/nod32problem2.jpg

    seems to me that something is wrong with my installation :'(

    //Michael
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 26, 2006
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,722
    Location:
    Texas
    Can you right click on the red entry in the log and see what you get?
     
  7. michaelk

    michaelk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    same thing...Its outgrayed :'(

    hxxp://kalisz.homelinux.net/albums/watches/nod32problem3.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 26, 2006
  8. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,722
    Location:
    Texas
    NOD won't delete a zip file, you have to follow the path and delete it yourself. This is the way the program is designed.
    What happens if you try to extract that file to your hard drive?
     
  9. michaelk

    michaelk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    Yep! You are right...

    After extracting the files I can now use the delete button :)

    Thanks!

    Michael
     
  10. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,722
    Location:
    Texas
    Michael

    If you haven't already, you might want to go through Blackspear's thread. Even if you don't set up NOD in this manner, you should be able to glean some tips from the thread.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.