Can't Change Settings

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v3 Beta Forum' started by crummock, Aug 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. crummock

    crummock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    198
    Hi,

    sorry if this is covered elsewhere but could not see it.

    I have ESS B2 running on 3 machines (2 Vista, 1 XP) and this problem applies to both Vista machines but not the XP machine.

    You cannot change the settings in the 'Personal Firewall, Configure Connection View' setup page. (It may apply elsewhere but that is the one I noticed).

    Only way to change them is to kill the egui.exe and run it 'as administrator'.
    Then settings can be changed.

    On both machines I'm already an admin user.
     
  2. crummock

    crummock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    198
    Anyone from Eset care to comment ?
     
  3. crummock

    crummock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    198
    I assume no one from Eset can be bothered to answer this ?
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Is UAC disabled?
     
  5. crummock

    crummock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    198
    Thank you for replying.

    No UAC is enabled. If this is the cause I would expect it to prompt for elevation when required.
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Could you try disabling it to see if it makes a difference?
     
  7. crummock

    crummock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    198
    With UAC turned off the problem does not exist.

    So it's caused by ESS not handling UAC correctly it seems.
     
  8. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Searching the internet you can find tons of applications having issues with Vista , UAC or its new security measures in general . It is still really young OS and programs need a little bit more tweaking to work perfectly with it.
     
  9. crummock

    crummock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    198
    Agreed. That is the point of raising this sort of issue. If it's not raised Eset will never fix it and it does need fixing in due course.
     
  10. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    :thumb: :thumb:
     
  11. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    We will test it and report it to the developers if the issue actually occurs.
     
  12. crummock

    crummock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    198
    Believe me, the issue exists or I would not see it on 2 separate Vista machines.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.