cant boot up help!!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by maddawgz, Aug 22, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,277
    Location:
    Earth
    At the moment im on my partner's pc..i dont know what the heck i did..anyhow i run a hewlard packard pavillion pc 8960...i have the recovery discs 2..but i normally just press f10 and it goes into system recovery and i can pick non destructive or destrucitve..anyhow.. the last thing i was doing on my pc was uninstalling avg 7.0 antivirus..I also run pc cillian but closed it down to do a avg scan!! anyhow i uninstalled avg and it asked me to reboot so i did .. on reboot..i get the Hp invent screen come up..then it goes to a black screen with a white progress bar at bottom it goes through that then goes to my xp screen with the blue progress bar after that boom back to hp invent begining screen where u press f10 or f8 to go into bios etc..that screen the same things happens and wont go into my log on screen at all....There is a one thing i noticed upon flickering between screens a bright blue one in the background for all of 1sec comes up i cant read whats on it..its too quick...is this a hardware or software problem u thinko_O DAMN!!!!!!!!!! i also pressed F10 to system recovery when it gets to the blue screen where u normally press non dest or destructive nothing in there except a blue screen 2.... WTF !!!!!! HELPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP I cant afford no tech person!!! Thanks in advance regards twodawgz o_O
     
  2. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    Start tapping F8 before the black screen with the white progress bar. That should bring up the advanced boot options menu that includes Safe Mode. If you just want to use the HP restore disks, they should be bootable.

    Nick
     
  3. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,277
    Location:
    Earth
    Thanks for the information..
    I had done that and it doesnt work..
    Computer tries but it goes back into the cycle again..
    maddawgz
     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Did you create a dos start up floppy? if so have you tried it.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    until someone more knowledgeable then me comes along, you could look at the links below. then if you find something, you could ask back here, to see if it is an acceptabe solution :)
    http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/xp_abc.htm
    http://aumha.org/win5/
    http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/index.html
    http://dougknox.com/
    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;315222&Product=winxp
    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;307852&Product=winxp
    http://www.theeldergeek.com/

    im not an expert so i dont know if you'll find your answer at the links, they're just somthing to try if you have the free time :) . also did you install SP2?, because there are known problems with booting with it.
     
  6. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    If the restore CD won't boot, make sure you enabled booting from CDs in the BIOS boot order.

    Nick
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.