Cann't recover TIB image

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Alcyone, Jun 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Alcyone

    Alcyone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    I am running TI 9.1 Server Edition on both of my servers and am trying to recover a file off a tape. The original file from server #1 was backed up to a disc on server #2. Then that TIB image on server #2 was backed up to a tape. This backup was done about two to three months ago and now I get this error.

    [​IMG]

    Any thoughts.

    Thanks
    Steve
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Alcyone,

    Thank you for using Acronis Server Disk Backup software.

    Could you please clarify if you tried to restore both under Windows and Bootable CD? Could you also check if the image can be validated successfully both under Windows and under Rescue Media? Was the image validated upon its creation? This would let us find the reason of the issue.

    Thank you
    --
    Nikita Sakharov
     
  3. mps_surcouf

    mps_surcouf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Posts:
    33
    I have exactly the same issue.
    I even verified the image and it said it was ok.
    However I always come to the same error message you are getting.
    I tried ftp network and dvd as source imgae locations.
    I have a call open with acronis and will report back my findings.

    Cheers

    Mike
     
  4. donleycott

    donleycott Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    Re: Can't recover TIB image

    I have the exact same problem using Acronis Home version 9.0 2337

    I did a backup of my F drive (20GB) and tried immediately after to restore it to a new drive and I get the message "This is not the last created volume of the image archive. Please insert the last created volume to start working with this archive".

    BUT this is the last created and the only created volume and I created it only a few minutes before using the same version of Acronis.


    (Please don't ask me to upgrade to the newer version 11 because I have purchased that also and it does the same thing but I don't like the interface
    and speed on Version 11 so I use Version 9)

    Pat
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Re: Can't recover TIB image

    I've run into that error before in other testing. TI seems to not be able to correctly read the end of the image file (or whatever part tells it the layout). In my case, the image was created in Windows and TI Full was having a problem with it.

    Are you trying to restore using TI Full from the CD?

    Did you create the backup using the TI Full Mode from the CD? If not, try it. Also, if saving to a drive, you could try splitting the image file at various sizes (1GB, 500MB, etc.) and see if it makes a difference.
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello mps_surcouf,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Could you please let us know your Acronis request number (e.g. [Acronis #123456]) which was sent to you in autoreply to your letter? We will find out how the investigation of your issue is going. If you have not received an autoreply then please send us a Private Message containing your e-mail address.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello donleycott,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    We recommend you to use the latest build (3854) of Acronis True Image 9.0 Home (or 8053 of Acronis True Image 11 Home). To get access to updates you should first register your software. Don't forget to recreate Acronis Bootable Rescue Media after updating.

    If the latest build doesn't solve the problem, please try copying the image to a different location and validating it again. We also recommend you to check the hard drive the image is stored at for errors by running "chkdsk /r" command on it.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.