Cannot validate archive...

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Lounacl, Jan 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lounacl

    Lounacl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    Hi... I'm a new TI user, and having some problems trying to validate my backups.

    I installed (clean) TI 9.0 release 2337. I have a 250gb primary drive, and a 120 gb drive that I am using as a backup drive. Both Seagate, both SATA. I have run 3 full backups, all completed successfully. After each backup, I ran the validate archive as a separate task. Each one has produced the same error message.

    Error 1 502(0x101F6) 1/6/2006 1:43:51pm Operation with partition "0-0" was terminated. Deatils: Image corrupted (0x70020)
    Error 100 5(0x640005) 1/6/2006 1:43:52pm Operation completed with errors

    Is anyone having the same problem? Is there a way to diagnose what is causing the problem? Naturally, I'm concerned that I can't produce a good image to restore from.

    Thanks in advance....
     
  2. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Make sure you don't have a hardware problem. Try chkdsk X: /r where X is your drive letter. Do it for all partitions, you will have to reboot for the active partition. Also check your memory with a program like (free) Memtest86+. Be sure you get the + version, Memtest86 without the + is obsolete. Version should be around 1.65.

    There was a program bug in earlier versions of TI9 that indicated corrupt images which were really OK but that was corrected AFAIK.
     
  3. keverne

    keverne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    I'm having exactly the same problem now that I'm using my new Lacie 250GB FAT32 USB external harddrive.

    Backups created on the old 80GB Lacie USB drive validate OK.

    Using Version 2,323 on a Toshiba Satellite Pro P3 with XP home.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Lounacl,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Could you please clarify whether you create an image in Windows or in rescue mode?
    Please clarify also where your images are saved to?

    If you create an image in Windows, please boot your computer from the bootable rescue media, create the image in rescue mode and see whether the problem still persists.

    Try to verify images created from under Windows using Acronis True Image 9.0 Bootable rescue CD and vice versa.

    Please let us know the results.

    Thank you.
    --
    Tatyana Tsyngaeva
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello keverne,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please download and install the latest build (2337) of Acronis True Image 9.0 which is available in the Product Updates section of our web-site.

    Please uninstall any previously installed build by following Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> Add or Remove Programs -> Acronis True Image, prior to installing build 2337.

    If the problem still persists, please check each partition of your hard drives by Windows utility:

    - For Windows 9x please use Windows menu Start\Run
    then enter the command "scandskw" and test all drives;

    - For Windows XP please use Windows menu Start\Run, then enter the command
    "chkdsk c: /r" "chkdsk d: /r" for every partition of your hard drives.

    Please note that you will need to reboot your computer in order to scan the system partition.

    Please also create an image onto an internal hard drive and see whether the problem remains.

    If that doesn't help, please follow the instructions in the post above and let us know the results.

    Thank you.
    --
    Tatyana Tsyngaeva
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.