Cannot update SpywareBlaster 4.1

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by tiluid, Aug 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tiluid

    tiluid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Bulgaria -> Sofia
    Cannot update SpywareBlaster 4.1 even with Alternative Download Method.

    Using Alternative Download Method I've got: "Update Failed; Error Code: DF2-B"

    Please help!
     
  2. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    This is likely being caused by another program on your system that is blocking SpywareBlaster's ability to access the Internet.

    What other security / privacy programs do you have installed? (Such as anti-virus, anti-trojan, firewall, HIPS / behavioral guards, cleaning tools, other anti-spyware programs, etc.)

    Best regards and thanks,

    -Javacool
     
  3. tiluid

    tiluid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Bulgaria -> Sofia
    Hello, Javacool!
    Thanks for the reply!

    I have:
    Avira AntiVir Personal
    AVG Anti Virus

    Windows XP Firewall is on

    Spybot S&D (TeaTimer not active)
    Ad-Aware SE Personal (Ad-Watch not active)
    WinPatrol (installed but not active)
    SpyBlocker Pro (installed but not active)

    CCleaner
     
  4. MICRO

    MICRO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,020
    It's a wonder other areas are not going awry tiluid with those two
    AV's on your computer - apparently there's only one thing AV's hate more than Viruses, another AV App. on the same machine.
     
  5. tiluid

    tiluid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Bulgaria -> Sofia
    OK, which one shall I leave on my PC?
    Avira or AVG? :doubt:
     
  6. MICRO

    MICRO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,020
    I have always used AVG but some people prefer Avira so you must decide, AVG has now repaired the Linkscanner Shield part and so you have the added help of that shield.

    This incompatibility re. more than one AV is MOSTLY specific to AV's - In other words you can have several anti spyware Apps. and not strike the problem you have encountered - So I would lose one of those two AV's totally and then close all running Apps., install Spywareblaster, and Spywareguard, both from Javacool, but close all running Apps. before installing each one - Then add Malwarebytes' Anti-malware, Search & Destroy, Superantispyware.
    Some of these other mentioned Apps. cover some of the malware that AV's do, and so by having a bit of a spread you have a better chance of avoiding the rubbish, well that's the plan anyway, but you are probably aware of,
    "The best laid plans O'mice and men - they very often go awry", hopefully not in your case but.

    The above is imagining that you have enough power on your machine to run
    the several Apps. mentioned - if not then lose some of them to counter.

    HTH.
     
  7. tiluid

    tiluid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Bulgaria -> Sofia
    Hello, again!
    Thanks for your replys!
    Let's go to the main point:

    I still cannot update my SpywareBlaster!
    I stopped my firewall, my Avira and AVG and tried to update but without success.

    I don't know what else to do!?

    Do you have any suggestions?
     
  8. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Hi,

    This might be an isolated problem with your ISP, or just a portion of your ISP's subscribers, that's causing trouble accessing our update server. We've seen such problems before.

    To help us track down whether or not that could be the case, please try the following:

    1.) Click on the Start Menu and then "Run..."
    2.) Enter the following, without the quotes: "cmd"
    3.) Press OK. This should open a Command Prompt.
    4.) Enter the following at the prompt:
    5.) Press Enter.
    6.) Then please copy the full output of the traceroute attempt, and paste it into a reply here. (It may take a minute to finish.)

    Best regards and thanks,

    -Javacool
     
  9. tiluid

    tiluid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Bulgaria -> Sofia
    Hi, Javacool!
    Here is the result:

    tracert.JPG
     
  10. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    That's what I thought might be the case.

    To double-check, can you please try visiting the link in your browser:
    http://www.spywareblaster.net

    You should see a redirect page, and then get directed to the main SpywareBlaster page.

    If you can't access it, the problem may be with your ISP (possibly because of a misconfiguration or DNS problem). What ISP do you have? (You might try notifying them that you can't access the SpywareBlaster updating server - www.spywareblaster.net - while people with other ISPs can, and ask them to please try to resolve the problem.)

    Best regards and thanks,

    -Javacool
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2008
  11. scottls

    scottls Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    37
    Re: Cannot update SpywareBlaster 4.1- Check this...!

    I am a software tech-
    Having more than one anti-virus or anti-spyware is usually ok as long as only one of each is active! You can then do on-demand scans with the inactive ones...

    With Antivir which is rated #1 (over twice as effective as AVG...!) at independent test- http://www.av-comparatives.org , you have to specify this make active... decision at install (custom...).
    The only drawback with Antivir free- is that only the paid version does POP3 email scans (MS Outlook or Outlook Express).

    When updating SWB- I have to first shut down my Spy Sweeper/update SWB/ restart.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    What firewall are you using (no 2 active firewalls/HIPS/rootkits/...!)?-
    1. If you are using a 3d party firewall- make sure SWB is trusted... (I use Online Armor paid HIPS firewall...).
    a. If you are using ANY 3d party firewall, make sure the Windows Firewall is OFF in Control Panel...!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Things to try? You did not post much specific info!?-
    1. Download and install freeware Sysinternals Process Explorer (much better than Task Manager)/Options & make default viewer. Open & see what's active...?
    Post a free MWsnap .jpg screenshot... here- http://mwsnap.en.softonic.com/
    2. Uninstall ALL of your security apps (make sure that Windows firewall is on...,if you uninstall 3d party firewall).
    If you uninstall Antivir...- Make sure and restart twice (any uninstall!), and then run the free Antivir Registry cleanup tool/restart!
    -Known Removal Tools for Major Antivirus Products:- http://aumha.net/viewtopic.php?f=27&p=199258
    3. Install free CCleaner file/Registry cleaner/restart (always do a fresh restart before running!).
    You MUST run file cleaner first (check settings FIRST!- Applications/Options (cookies...)..., Then run Registry cleaner/restart! http://www.ccleaner.com/
    4. Manually delete ALL prefetch files & slow restart 3 times (wait 2min between restarts/ always!).
    5. Do a chkdsk, and restart 3 times.
    6. Did you post a Hijack This log, and ask for forum help...?
    7. Now reinstall security..., with SWB first.
    8. If all this still fails?- Do a full system reinstall! I would then make a FULL System back-up with Acronis True Image Home (easy to go back, if you have problems...?!).
    a. Now install your Security...
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    NOTE: If you think that you can get TOP anti-malware protection with freeware?- I-don't think-so!! Independent tests confirm that Antivir/Comodo are the only good ones... If you bank or do business online!- You may find out how expensive "free" can be (identity theft...!)!
    My Security Setup-
    -NOD32 v2.7 AV (I will be switching to Antivir paid, after my subscription is up).
    -Spy Sweeper v5.3 AS
    -Online Armor paid HIPS “user friendly” firewall (protects against keyloggers/rootkits/in-the-wild (new malware without a definition).
    The OA free filewall gets also pretty good marks too.
    Comodo HIPS firewall is free, but WHAT-A-PAIN...!
    Independent firewall test-
    http://www.matousec.com/projects/firewall-challenge/results.php#firewalls-ratings
    -Sandboxie free!- Surf the Internet & open email..., in a 100% protected read-only area! http://www.sandboxie.com/[/url - Linksys Router (also a hardware firewall).
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2008
  12. tiluid

    tiluid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Bulgaria -> Sofia
    Hi, Javacool!
    I called the customer support of my ISP (my ISP is www.bol.bg) and I explained my problem. They told me that my DNS number is old and when we changed it I was able to update my Spywareblaster.
    Thanks a lot for your precise help!

    tiluid
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2008
  13. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Hi,

    I'm glad to hear you got things working again. :)

    We've had this happen a few times in the past with various ISPs - it's not always clear why it happens, but it's good to know everything's resolved on your end.

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  14. bmck

    bmck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    Cannot update SWB 4.1. AVG is anti-virus, Windows XP is only firewall, exceptions allowed for SWB update and exe.
    error code is DF2-B.
    tracert is OK.
    DNS is current and ISP is not blocking update.
    have used SWB for several years, update problem only in last month.
     
  15. MichaelG

    MichaelG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    Same here update problems just this last month... still no fix.

    Nothing changed on my system other than MS updates and NOD 32 updates.

    Id like to bet others are having problems but they just dont bother to look in the forum for answers..
     
  16. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
  17. dw2108

    dw2108 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Posts:
    480
    SB 4.2 keeps telling me that I have the latest updates. NOT SO! I'm missing the April 4 2009 updates.

    Dave
     
  18. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Hi,

    The latest database date for SpywareBlaster 4.2 is: 3/24/2009.

    We have another database update in the queue, but it may be a day or two until it gets officially pushed out to the mirrors. (i.e. For a little bit, there won't be any database updates to download for 4.2.)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  19. dw2108

    dw2108 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Posts:
    480
    Thanks very much, Javacool!

    Dave
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.