Cannot remove FindWilde

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by CyberDrone, Dec 20, 2014.

  1. CyberDrone

    CyberDrone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Posts:
    10
    Hi, I hope that this is in the correct forum.

    I cannot completely remove FindWilde frm my laptop, I have Kasperky Internet Security 2015 installed, it found 11 threats and successfully removed them.

    I then scanned with Malwarebytes (free version) and it found a bunch of PUPs with was removed after a reboot. I then scanned again with MBAM with a clean result.

    I then scanned with Hitman pro (paid version) and on the end stage of scanning (Malware Remnants), it found a lot of FindWilde items. I then pressed Next, but Hitman pro will not delete them, it just freezes up, and after 40 minutes, Hitman pro still hasn't progressed in deleting it. I have to go to Task Manager and End the process to exit Hitman pro.

    I then downloaded Emisoft Emergency Toolkit and scanned, but t did not detect FindWilde.

    I have used Adwcleaner and it found some entrires, they were removed after a reboot.
    I have used Junkware Removal Tool, it found a couple processes, and were removed after a reboot.
    I ran these 2 tools again and they showed up clean.

    I have run %TEMP% and deleted the temp files,. My Recycle Bin is empty.
    I ran ccleaner and deleted items in Clean and also Registry.

    I reset Firefox to its default status

    The only scanner that still picks up FindWilde is Hitman pro, what other means of deleting it is there??

    I have attached Hitman pro's result

    Thanks for your help!

    http://i.imgur.com/zBbNyF7.png
     
  2. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,267
    Location:
    England
  3. DX2

    DX2 Guest

    Boot into safe mode or scan with Kaspersky rescue disk..
     
  4. subhrobhandari

    subhrobhandari Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    708
    Can you see if compatible disk access (Settings>Advanced) solves the problem?

    Screenshot shows FindWide clearly, I think the op made a typo. BTW, in the malwaretips article, download link seems to be a cleverbridge affiliate link redirecting to hitman?
     
  5. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,237
    The link to Malwarebytes is an affiliiate link as well. In this case, it seems the included uninstaller does not properly remove FindWide. However, MalwareTips is a scam website in my opinion, trying to make money as an affiliate from highly misleading removal guides which portray harmless unwanted software as being unsafe, in order to try to get people to purchase MBAM or HMP so they can make money as an affiliate.
     
  6. CyberDrone

    CyberDrone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Posts:
    10
    "I am thinking you actually mean FindWide and not FindWilde ?" That was a typo!

    I tried all the the scanners in my first post in Safe Mode / with networking with no luck. Hitman pro will
    not work in Safe Mode with Networking. Should it run in Safe Mode with Networking??
    I also tried Trend Micro Housecall.

    In the link on Kaspersky Rescue Disk, it says that it should only be used if you cannot boot your pc. ( I have a laptop btw) What is the difference between Kaspersky Rescue Disk and using KIS??

    "Can you see if compatible disk access (Settings>Advanced) solves the problem?"
    That did not make any difference unfortunately.

    Any other suggestions?
     
  7. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,267
    Location:
    England
    Did you reset all of your browsers?
     
  8. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,513
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    I boot a Linux LiveCD & delete files that can't be deleted in Windows.
     
  9. CyberDrone

    CyberDrone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Posts:
    10
    Yes, all 3 browsers have been reset, but still no luck!
     
  10. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,237
    It could be an issue with registry permissions. You colud try running Windows Repair (All in One) from tweaking.com, and running just the first repair - Reset Registry Permissions, then doing the requested reboot, and then try running Hitman again.
     
  11. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,513
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Using a livecd is an easy way to delete any item. Couple minutes max.
     
  12. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,045
    Since there are only registry entries from HKCU shown in your printscreen, you can check if there any actual file detected. If not you can create new user account, migrate everything to new account and delete old account.

    EDIT: all 71 detections from your printscreen are categorized as "Traces", so you can assume that infection is not active any more, there are only leftovers detected.
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2014
  13. CyberDrone

    CyberDrone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Posts:
    10
    "It could be an issue with registry permissions. You colud try running Windows Repair (All in One) from tweaking.com, and running just the first repair - Reset Registry Permissions, then doing the requested reboot, and then try running Hitman again."

    I ran the scan as you suggested, but still no luck!
     
  14. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,513
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    You don't have to struggle.
     
  15. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  16. CyberDrone

    CyberDrone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Posts:
    10
    Is there a way of running Hitman Pro in Safe Mode with Networking on a Win 8.1 64bit laptop??

    Thank!
     
  17. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,513
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    You're just opposed to booting to an alternate OS & removing items that way?
     
  18. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,237
    That won't help, they're registry keys not files, to be removed.
     
  19. CyberDrone

    CyberDrone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Posts:
    10
    I just completed a scan withe Eset Online Scanner and it did not detect anything. Detect potential unwanted modifications/programs was selected.
     
  20. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,513
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
  21. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,237
  22. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,513
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
  23. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  24. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,267
    Location:
    England
  25. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    If you wish - any of the Forums listed below fully support malware removal.
    http://asap.maddoktor2.com/

    You may also call Microsoft at no charge: This would be MS PC Safety.
    1 - 866 - 727 - 2338
     
Loading...