cannot recover image of vista with ATI 11

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Altgr, Apr 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Altgr

    Altgr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    I made disc image of partition where is the vista, and when i recovery that image with acronis true image 11, become a problem that vista cannot boot. Error is bootmgr is missing press ctrl+alt+delete.
    any advice. thanks and sory for my bad english.
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2008
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Boot with your Vista DVD and choose Repair.
     
  3. Altgr

    Altgr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    I try repair my vista with vista dvd, but boot cannot be repair with vista dvd. I try click startup repair and its not help and through cmd bootrec.exe /fixboot and mbr nothing hapens. Startup repair on vista dvd dont see at all vista boot option. xp working fine, but vista not.
     
  4. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Ahh ... so it's a dual boot system ... someone else will help. I don't dual boot.
     
  5. Altgr

    Altgr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    No it is not dualboot, vista its on one disk without other os.
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    When you boot the Vista DVD, go to the Command Prompt and run the bcdedit command, what is the output displayed?

    As for the dual-boot, is XP on one disk and Vista on another? Or is Vista the only OS installed on this computer?
     
  7. Altgr

    Altgr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    bcedit ok i will try that and post later. vista is the only OS installed on computer.
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2008
  8. Altgr

    Altgr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    Edit : when i run bcdedit in command prompt, is sasy

    The boot configuration data store could not be opened
    The system cannot find the file specified.
     
  9. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Is there only one hard drive in the computer?

    Is the Vista drive set as the Boot Drive in the computer's BIOS?

    Is the Vista partition set as Active?

    When you use the Command Prompt from the Vista DVD, is the Vista drive assigned the C: drive letter?

    If you type the following commands (<ENTER> means to press the ENTER key), do you see the bootmgr file and the boot folder?
    Code:
    c: <ENTER>
    cd \ <ENTER>
    dir /ah <ENTER>
    If you can see them, type the following commands to see if the BCD file exists:
    Code:
    cd boot <ENTER>
    dir /ah <ENTER>
    If the BCD file is listed, type the following for the output:
    Code:
    bcdedit /store c:\boot\bcd <ENTER>
     
  10. Altgr

    Altgr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    hard drive is the only drive in the computer, yes

    vista drive is set as the Boot Drive in computers BIOS, yes also

    and also the vista partition is set as active

    all included backup and recover i worked with bootable cd ati 11

    vista is assigned to drive C:, recovery operation progress says

    Hard disk 1
    Drive letter D: > C:
    Volume label
    Size ...


    when i check these first you tell i dont see bootmgr file and the boot folder in the cmd

    second when i type cd boot : The system cannot find the path specified

    dir /ah :volume in drive C has no label
    volume serial number is ....-....
    Directory od C:\
    File not found
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2008
  11. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    When you created an image of your Vista partition, was there another hard disk installed in your PC? Did the other disk have Windows XP on it, for example? If so, that's where your Vista boot files are located.
     
  12. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Altgr, can you explain the reference to "XP working fine" in message #3?
     
  13. Altgr

    Altgr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    When i backup the partiton where is vista located, there is no any other hard disk connected to motherboard or pc. Only one hard disk is in the pc, and it is vista on him. Shortly explain how i do backup. First i put acronis TI 11 bootable cd, made backup of vista partition, there is in progress different options, all files hidden etc.. all of them i mark. I'm not working backup sector by sector. Secondly i go to recover the vista which is on the same hard disk, on partiton d : that backup of vista which i made is on partiton d. After recovery ati11 tell the operation was successful, then follows restart pc and error bootmgr is missing. I dont now what other to tell, all that process with backup it works in xp without any problems on procedure how i explain with boot ati11 cd ....
    DwnNdrty i mean it in message #3 that backup with ATI 11 works nice and fine when i made a image of partition where xp is located, that is the other disk which is turned off the pc.
    Again i apologize for my bad english and thank you for helping me.
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2008
  14. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    If these are the options to which you are referring, then that's the problem. Normally, you don't want to check these. Checking these will exclude the hidden and system files so that they are not included in the image and will not be restored. Without these files, there is no way the system will boot properly.
    exclude_checkboxes.jpg
     
  15. Altgr

    Altgr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    O i was really reckless, that was the problem, i make a mistake. Thank you very much, everybody, i really appreciate your help.
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2008
  16. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    You're welcome.

    Sometimes the "simple" solutions are the hardest to find. At least we know that TI 11 was properly excluding the files.
     
  17. jmcconda

    jmcconda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Hi,

    I am having the same problem, except it has nothing to do with checking the exclude for hidden files. Vista repair worked once, but I had to restore again, and now I keep getting the same "Bootmgr is missing error". I have yet to be able to restore Vista without a repair, and now I can't even do that.

    I'm really disappointed in Acronis for Vista so far. I bought the full home version, but I've had no luck restoring a boot drive in Vista.
     
  18. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    jmcconda:

    The message "Bootmgr is missing" is produced when you try booting the PC to a non-system partition. It sounds like either you have the wrong partition marked as "Active" or else your PC is booting to the wrong disk.

    If you have more than one hard disk then the first thing that I would check is to enter your BIOS setup and look at the boot order. Make sure that the Vista disk is set to be the highest priority in the boot device order. Some PCs have more than one menu for boot device order - one for the hard disk order and the other to select between devices (CD drive, floppy, USB, hard disks) so check the settings in all of these.

    How many hard disks are in your PC? How many partitions are on the disk where Vista is installed?
     
  19. jmcconda

    jmcconda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    2 disks, 2 partitions on the primary drive. I'll check the BIOS, but I never had a booting issue before. I also reinstalled Vista last night and made another backup of that image, and it works fine.
     
  20. jmcconda

    jmcconda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    I checked the BIOS, my primary drive is set to boot first after CDROM.
     
  21. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Hmm.. I wonder what happened originally to produce the "Bootmgr is missing" error? It sounds like you have things working OK now. By "it works fine" do you mean that you restored your new backup image and it works fine?
     
  22. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello jmcconda,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Could you please clarify if the problem disappeared?

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.