Cannot install TrueImage Home 2009

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by matthiasr, Oct 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. matthiasr

    matthiasr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    Hi,
    i purchased the upgrade to TrueImageHome 2009. I successfully uninstalled TrueImageHome 11. I then rebooted the system. Then i started the installation.

    But the installation of TrueImageHome 2009 cannot completed. At near the end of the installation the setup progress bar runs backward and a message appears saying that the installation was not successfull.
    Tried both install for all users and also for administrator only.

    I´ve already checked that the both COM+ services and also the Distributed Transaction Coordinator are started. Nothing helps.

    So i tried to install TrueImageHome 11 again. But this does not work also now.

    My system is WindowsVistaUltimate germain.

    What can i do?

    Regards,

    Matthias Rebbe
     
  2. Faust

    Faust Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    258
    Have you tried system restore back to before you uninstalled TI 11 and start again?
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Do you have the UAC turned on? If so, try turning it off, rebooting, installing TI and then turning UAC back on. This worked for me with this same problem on several Vista Ultimate systems.
     
  4. matthiasr

    matthiasr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    Hi,

    and thanks for your help.


    @Faust: System restore was disabled for other reasons

    @MudCrab: UAC was disabled already

    Regards,

    Matthias
     
  5. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Delete all temporary files in: C:\Users\YOUR_USER_NAME\AppData\Local\Temp.

    Then try re-installing, there may be some files that are locked and therefore can't be deleted.

    Above location is for Vista:

    For XP: C:\Documents and Settings\YOUR_USER_NAME\Local Settings\Temp.

    Colin
     
  6. chrismarx

    chrismarx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Posts:
    9
    I have the same problem, I'm trying to install the demo. I saw an earlier post about running the msi and enabling logging, and I found the error in the log:


    MSI (c) (E0:C4) [21:54:57:403]: PROPERTY CHANGE: Deleting SECONDSEQUENCE property. Its current value is '1'.
    Action ended 21:54:57: ExecuteAction. Return value 3.
    MSI (c) (E0:C4) [21:54:57:403]: Doing action: FatalErrorForm
    Action 21:54:57: FatalErrorForm.
    Action start 21:54:57: FatalErrorForm.
    MSI (c) (E0:AC) [21:54:57:403]: Note: 1: 2262 2: Error 3: -2147287038
    DEBUG: Error 2826: Control BannerBmp on dialog FatalErrorForm extends beyond the boundaries of the dialog to the right by 3 pixels
    The installer has encountered an unexpected error installing this package. This may indicate a problem with this package. The error code is 2826. The arguments are: FatalErrorForm, BannerBmp, to the right
    MSI (c) (E0:AC) [21:54:57:403]: Note: 1: 2262 2: Error 3: -2147287038
    DEBUG: Error 2826: Control Line1 on dialog FatalErrorForm extends beyond the boundaries of the dialog to the right by 3 pixels



    should I follow the same advice as above?
     
  7. yamaneko

    yamaneko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Posts:
    53
    Ok, I got it installed. I done it that way:

    1. Double click True Image 2009 installer, when Installer Wizard appears, right click Install Acronis True Image Home and select Extract
    2. Save AcronisTrueImage.msi somewhere.
    3. Type %temp% on the Search box and press Enter.
    4. Empty temp -folder
    5. Type CMD on the Search box and right click cmd.exe, and then click Run As Administrator.
    6. Type AcronisTrueImage.msi and press Enter.
    7. Continue as usual.

    (here is some screenshots, text is in Finnish)
     
  8. chrismarx

    chrismarx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Posts:
    9
    great thanks!! that totally worked, I wonder if deleting temp files was really necessary, maybe just installing under administrator did the trick-
     
  9. yamaneko

    yamaneko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Posts:
    53
    I do not know if clearing temp is really required, but I read that it could be. So it is there just in case :D
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello matthiasr,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Please do the following:

    -Download Windows Installer CleanUp Utility, install and run it;
    - Select Acronis True Image 11 Home and Acronis True Image Home 2009 and click "Remove" on each one;
    - Clear temp folders, as described by yamaneko.

    Then try installing again. If the issue persists, please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly:

    Collect MSI installer log:
    - Launch the product installation file;
    - Right-click on the "Install Acronis True Image" button and select "Extract";
    - Select the path for extracting the component and click "Save";
    - Go to the Run prompt (Start -> Run) and issue the following command:

    msiexec /i msi-name /l*v log-name

    where msi-name is the name of the file you extracted and log-name is the path and the name to the log file you want to save the output to;
    - Reproduce the problem and collect the log file created during the installation.

    Please also create Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will do our best to investigate the problem and provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.