cannot find eset server..

Discussion in 'ESET Endpoint Products' started by mcotorres, Sep 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mcotorres

    mcotorres Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    us
    How do i make eset to not update from the server but instead update it from the website.

    we have outsite user who needs to be update it but it tries to connect to our servers we want him to get connected thru the website.
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    First of all, he must be using an Endpoint (Business edition) product in order to be able to change the update server. This can be done in the update setup.
     
  3. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    As Marcos pointed out, the feature to update from another source than "choose automatically" is only available in the business edition - you can change it in the ESET endpoint itself in the advanced settings, or you can update the location by pushing out a new configuration or policy from your Remote Administrator.

    For more info, talk to ESET support in the USA - or your reseller.

    However - if you bought end-point protection as a home edition (or family multi-packs) - you are going to be out of luck... the feature won't work, and it will be necessary to upgrade your license - or - as might of happened - perhaps business licensing is in place, but the installation is the home edition (you can install home with a business license) - if this is the case, installing the correct business endpoint software can usually be done OVER THE TOP of the home edition.

    hth
     
  4. mcotorres

    mcotorres Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    us
    I have the business version, I'm the admin to control the ESET. However we have a outside user who works in and out of the company. We have a server pointing to the Antivirus on site. He is able to update his antivirus. When he goes out to the field to work and his eset wants to update trying to connect to the server it doesn't let him because it can't find the server.

    I wanted to set him up instead of looking to the server to update when his out, to get the updates from the website itself.
     
  5. P_R_

    P_R_ Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Hello,

    you could set a dual update profile in scheduler according to these instructions:
    http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN761

    In case the PC is in company's network it will update from local mirror and in case the mirror wouldn't be reachable it will update from ESET's update servers.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.