Cannot do a restore

Discussion in 'Paragon Partition Manager Product Line' started by Fiery_WA, Feb 28, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fiery_WA

    Fiery_WA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Posts:
    42
    Ran a SCF and chkdsk all good.
    1. I checked the file integrity = good
    2. I am trying to roll back to a good configuration using HDM11, from windows I clicked restore applied it asked to be rebooted, so I let it.
    3. During the supposed restore, it stops "FAILED"
    4. Put in the B&R Disk first time around I got an I/O error, upon investigation I read here in the forum I needed to unplug my USB HD, then plug them back in once the disk search is done (which is where my backups are)
    5. Unplugged my USB HD, rebooted with the B&R disk, it scanned the disks and I got the "Next" screen up.
    6. Plugged back in my USB HD, pressed next.
    7. It found all of my partitions, but no sign of my USB HD.
    8. Rebooted back into Windows, opened HDM11, and all of my archive files have vanished.
    9. Re added them.

    Now time for the questions.

    1. Will the re added .PBF's work? without the .img? (am running an integrity check atm)
    2. Why won't Paragon let me restore from Windows?
    3. Why will it not find my external HD?
    I am copying the backup arc file to one of my partitions on my internal HD, will Paragon find it and more importantly successfully use it?
     
  2. Fiery_WA

    Fiery_WA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Posts:
    42
    Hello is anyone out there?
     
  3. garioch7

    garioch7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Posts:
    61
    Location:
    Canada
    Fiery: The reason that I have not responded previously is that I am not a Paragon expert. From what you have described, I am guessing that the driver(s) necessary for the Paragon Recovery Disk to recognize your external hard drive are not present on the boot media.

    I too use an external hard drive for backups (HDM2012 Suite) and ensured that the external hard drive was connected before creating my recovery media.

    There are folks who haunt this forum who are real experts at boot media and WinPE and all sorts of acronyms that I don't understand, but they can make Paragon sing and dance. Hopefully one of them will join this discussion and we can all learn more.

    Hope this helps. Have a great day, and I hope that I have not insulted you with my simplistic answer.

    Regards,
    -Phil
     
  4. Fiery_WA

    Fiery_WA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Posts:
    42
    You have HDM 12, which has the WinPE media built into it (the B&R disk). I am using HDM 11 which doesn't. I have tried to create the WinPE disk, but even that is not working :rolleyes:

    I keep my backups on a external, the problem lies in Paragon not recognising them.

    No not insulted, actually grateful although you couldn't help me, you at least took the time to respond :)
     
  5. Paragon_Chris

    Paragon_Chris Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Posts:
    45
    Just a few questions to clarify and I'll try to help you out the best I can...

    What version and build of the software are you using, what version of windows are you using and what kind of external drive are you using(File system, size, type)?

    You are using the Linux Recovery Media correct?

    It would be best to backup directly to the ext drive, or copy the entire folder of the backup when you do.
     
  6. Fiery_WA

    Fiery_WA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Posts:
    42

    Build 12650

    Vista Ultimate 32 bit SP2

    WD 1 TB My Book Essential NTFS

    I copied the entire folder over to an internal hard drive, booted it up using the B&R disk, found the copy, and it couldn't be read
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2013
  7. Fiery_WA

    Fiery_WA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Posts:
    42
    I have tried and tried to create a Windows Automated Installation Kit (WAIK), without success. As stated I used to use Acronis, which had WinPE built into it. That is still on my OS, I don't know if that is interfering with the creation, of the WinPE I need for Paragon.

    That's why I need help :'(
     
  8. Paragon_Chris

    Paragon_Chris Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Posts:
    45
    I apologize, I am a little confused with what exactly is the issue...

    Are you just having problems creating the boot media? Unfortunately Microsofts recent Licensing change does not allow any company to include the WAIK or WinPE built in anymore, it forces customers like yourself to download the WAIK from Microsofts website and create the WinPE media.

    It sounds like you might be having problems installing the WAIK correctly, in order to do that please click here: http://static.slysoft.com/SetupVirtualCloneDrive.exe and install the Virtual DVD Drive software, and then click here: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=5753 and download the iso for the WAIK, after doing this, double click on the ISO wherever you saved it to, and it should open into an installation program with the autorun feature. You will then have to choose to install WAIK from the menu that opens up.
     
  9. Fiery_WA

    Fiery_WA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Posts:
    42
    Okay have downloaded and installed the virtual clone software.

    I ended up uninstalling Acronis (which included there bootup media), I have already both WAIK download's. Which was installed, but I got so fed up with it, not doing what it was supposed to do, I uninstalled that too.

    Just to confirm when I reinstall WAIK, I install it into the Virtual Clone folder?

    Oh someone might want to inform Paragon Tech Support, that the Media Builder is no longer available from "My Downloads"

    04/03/2013 08:57 (Mukhametshina Nailya) Clarify Request

    Add comment/Reply
    Dear Susan, As I can see from the screenshots, you launched the Recovery Media Builder. Note, that WinPE should be created via the Boot Media Builder. Please enter your account on our site (https://www.paragon-software.com/account/login.htm?from=my-account) and download the Boot Media Builder from the section "My downloads". Install it, launch and proceed all the steps of this utility to create WinPE. you can find screenshots for all the steps described above on the page 5 of the instruction, which I sent to you on 28.2.2013. I'm attaching this manual once more.

    My response :-

    04/03/2013 10:06 (Susan) User Reply

    Add comment/Reply
    That was the first place I looked. Please see attached you will see it is not in "My Downloads"
    Attachment: attachment.zip (0.15 Mb)
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2013
  10. Paragon_Chris

    Paragon_Chris Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Posts:
    45
    If you have the Virtual Clone software installed, simply double clicking the waik .iso file will mount it as a virtual dvd. You can then open up "My Computer" and find it listed in the dvd drive section.

    I'd have to have the email address you registered with paragon to check your download status. If you do not have the correct version of software registered you will not have access to the WinPE Boot Media Builder.
     
  11. Fiery_WA

    Fiery_WA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Posts:
    42
    It is in HDM 12, but I have HDM 11, according to the .PDF in HDM 12, only Win7 and above can use the Media Builder.

    Taken from the .PDF

    Unlike Boot Media Builder, WinPE Recovery Media Builder doesn’t require to have Windows Assessment and Deployment Kit (ADK) or Automated Installation Kit (WAIK) installed in the system. However, it can only be used under Windows 7 or higher, and its functionality is rather limited.

    If you’ve got Windows Vista or older, please use Boot Media Builder to prepare the WinPE recovery environment, which you can get here: www.paragon-software.com/my-account/.

    I have Vista
     
  12. Paragon_Chris

    Paragon_Chris Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Posts:
    45
    I'm confused about your response.

    Did you attempt any of my suggestions? What happened? What issues are you having? What are your questions now?
     
  13. Fiery_WA

    Fiery_WA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Posts:
    42

    Do you have a personal messaging thing in this forum? I would rather not tell the world my email address
     
  14. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,976
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Fiery_WA, you can send a Private Message to any forum member, by clicking their profile name link and under their Contact Info, you'll see the link.

    Also, review What is Private Messaging? Just FYI.
     
  15. Fiery_WA

    Fiery_WA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Posts:
    42
    Thank you the moment after I posted I found the way :)
     
  16. Fiery_WA

    Fiery_WA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Posts:
    42
    This is what happens after I have created the WinPE.iso, I try and load it to boot media builder. PLEASE REMEMBER I AM USING VISTA

    Details
    Product: Windows Operating System
    Event ID: 1000
    Source: Application Error
    Version: 5.2
    Symbolic Name: ER_USERCRASH_LOG
    Message: Faulting application %1, version %2, faulting module %3, version %4, fault address 0x%5.

    Please do not bag me out for using Vista, some of us are not made of money, and I purchased Vista Ultimate, long before Win7 was even mentioned.
     
  17. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,976
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Fiery_WA, you're welcome! Take care.
     
  18. Paragon_Chris

    Paragon_Chris Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Posts:
    45
    I reviewed your help desk tickets, you processed a refund for the HDM12 and you no longer have a license or legal rights to use the Boot Media Builder, you should no longer be attempting to create the WinPE media with our software as this is now illegal for you to do.

    We will not give you any support free or otherwise if you are using our software illegally. You claimed the upgrade was a waste of money and no longer wanted to troubleshoot this issue and demanded a refund, this refund is being granted but you no longer have legal rights to use the software.

    The Boot Media Builder works fine with any version of windows WinXP and up.
     
  19. Fiery_WA

    Fiery_WA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Posts:
    42
    Yes I have asked for a refund with HDM12 but I still have a fully licensed use of HDM11. Which if you go to my original post you will see I am asking for help with HDM11, it was only under tech's support advice, that it would fix my problem that I purchased the upgrade.

    By the way. this is the first I have heard, that I am being granted a refund.

    I am still having issues with restoring from HDM11,so can we please focus on that.o_O
     
  20. Paragon_Chris

    Paragon_Chris Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Posts:
    45
    The HDM 11 is fully licensed and fine, the HDM 12 and Boot Media Builder for WinPE is no longer licensed. If you purchase the software through us, we always give a 30day money back guarantee. Tobia who you had been working with via trouble ticket has pushed the refund through and you should be receiving an email from cleverbridge if you have not already, along with a full refund.

    From reading through everything it appears you have hardware with drivers that are not supported on the Linux Recovery Media but you are able to burn the Linux Recovery Media and boot from it.

    If your External Drive has drivers that are not supported by the Linux Recovery Media then you can use an External Drive that has standard drivers that are Linux compatible and it will work.

    The newer version of HDM 12 includes a WinPE Boot Media Builder which includes newer drivers for hardware that is not compatible with the older Linux Recovery Media. It also has the option of adding drivers into the WinPE boot media in the case that the hardware you are using does not have standardized drivers.

    Unfortunately the issue you are running into appears to be that the external hard drive you are trying to use is not compatible with the older Linux Recovery Media. The only solution is to use a different piece of hardware that is compatible or to upgrade the software to a newer version that would support your hardware.
     
  21. Paragon_Chris

    Paragon_Chris Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Posts:
    45
    Also, we can no longer bundle the WinPE iso's into a recovery builder due to Microsoft Licensing changes. Microsoft licenses force the end user to download and install the WAIK themselves and we can program the Boot Media Builder to interface with the WAIK and build a WinPE disk, but this is a requirement by Microsoft. It looks like your problems before were the unfortunately poor usability Microsoft has designed into the WAIK installation.
     
  22. Fiery_WA

    Fiery_WA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Posts:
    42
    Yes I understand that you can no longer bundle the WinPE.

    What I do not understand is this comment you made :-

    "If your External Drive has drivers that are not supported by the Linux Recovery Media then you can use an External Drive that has standard drivers that are Linux compatible and it will work."

    I am sorry but I don't understand what you are talking about with my External Drive and Linux?

    It is and always has been a Western Digital External, from in the past has been recognised by the recovery media.

    However this time around it (boot media) keeps throwing me an I/O device error, when I have the same USB External Drive, that I have successfully restored from in the past.
     
  23. Paragon_Chris

    Paragon_Chris Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Posts:
    45
    If it worked before and does not work now then the problem would be with your usb drive. The data on the CD has not changed. Try running a chkdsk on the external usb drive.

    I am very confused with your posts and do not understand the main problem, we've talked about several issues in this thread. Can we clarify what the actual issue is and get exact error messages, screenshots and detailed information on what you are doing and what problems you are experiencing. If problems are unrelated it would be better to create separate threads for them as it will get very confusing working on multiple unrelated problems in the same thread.

    Also please choose one support venue at a time. Working with multiple techs on multiple issues across multiple support channels can become very problematic.
     
  24. Fiery_WA

    Fiery_WA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Posts:
    42
    If I could take screenshots I would.

    Okay using the KISS principle.

    One of the first things I do when something isn't working as it should, in this case my External Drive I troubleshoot it, therefore I had already run a chkdsk on it.

    When I try and do a recovery using HDM11, when it gets to scanning for devices and I have my USB External Drive plugged in I get an I/O device error.

    If I unplug the the USB External Drive, it finds my internal drives.

    Reboot with USB External Drive plugged in I/O device error again.
     
  25. Paragon_Chris

    Paragon_Chris Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Posts:
    45
    Are you using the same boot media you've used successfully in the past to access this external usb drive?

    An I/O error is happening because of a problem with the external drive or USB drivers. Nothing has changed with the boot media. Try using a different USB drive and see if it boots successfully. This is not an error with Paragon but an error with your USB drive.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.