Cannot access my shared folders now

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by rosiemattie, Jul 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rosiemattie

    rosiemattie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    I just installed Acronis True Image Home 2009 on my laptop. My laptop is networked to my desktop.

    After installing, I can't access my shared files from my laptop on my desktop. What's going on?

    I can access my shared files from my desktop on my laptop. Since I installed this program on my laptop, I am assuming Acronis changed something on my network settings.

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    I know this sounds silly but this is windows, so did you try rebooting both machines and trying again?
     
  3. rosiemattie

    rosiemattie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    yes, I've tried 3 times.

    uninstalled and everything was okay again.

    re-installed and same problem now.
     
  4. MCyS

    MCyS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    is access denied only for shared folders on external drives or also for all other resources?
    I ask, because I had a similiar problem but only couldnt access shared folders on external drives. This might or might not depend on Acronis, but there is a fix for it, if so, let me know...
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    What OS is on the laptop (XP, Vista, etc.)?
     
  6. rosiemattie

    rosiemattie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    On my laptop, I have the drive partitioned (drive d) - and it is the partitioned drive that I cannot access.

    Am using XP Media edition on both computers.

    (This might or might not depend on Acronis, but there is a fix for it, if so, let me know...)

    I would love to know the fix!

    Thanks.
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
  8. MCyS

    MCyS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Correct, this seems to be a Win problem, and changing the IRPStackSize to 50 fixed the error for me, after a reboot, I could immediately access my Shared folders again.
    I don`t know if this was caused by Acronis or not, but the problem started after installing Trueimage 2009.
     
  9. rosiemattie

    rosiemattie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Ahh! thanks!

    I can not access my shared folders again! First I increased the IRPStackSize to 15 and that did not help.

    I then increased it to 50 and it worked!

    Does it hurt to have it at 50 or should I have tried increasing it from 15 to 18, checked to see if it worked, then 18 to 21, etc. until I could get it to work?

    I hope this doesn't mess up anything else on my computers.

    Thanks!

    Rosie
     
  10. rosiemattie

    rosiemattie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    OMG - I meant to say:

    I can "now" access my shared folders again!

    not

    I can "not" access my shared folders again!
     
  11. MCyS

    MCyS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    I see no reason, why you should not leave it at Decimal 50, as the normal 12 seems to cause problems not only since Win2k and XP, but also from Windows NT and even Windows for Workstation on, but of course, if you feel not good with it, you can set it to lower values, its just a matter of trial (and time, you have to reboot every time to take affect)
     
  12. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    I seem to recall that setting it to a high number has some negative consequences but I don't recall what they are. I seem to think it was a degradation in performance. Its been a long time since I had to mess with it. Perhaps a Google search would yield results about this.

    The default value for IRP Stacksize is 15 for many operating systems. I have followed Microsoft's recommendation to increase the value by 3. I found that 18 worked for me so I left it there. Never had a problem after that.
     
  13. rosiemattie

    rosiemattie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    I changed it to 18 and it works.

    I'm happy now.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.