can you still convert Webroot SecureAnywhere Essentials to new version?

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by country2, Jan 27, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. country2

    country2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    I'm still seeing some stores selling Webroot SecureAnywhere Essentials (old version) and wondering if you can still purchase the old and have it update t the new or was there a cutoff date? Thanks!
     
  2. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    yes it will convert to the plus edition of wsa. as long as its NOT the best buy version...
     
  3. country2

    country2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    Thanks for the info. But I thought the ones from BB that was supposed to be destroyed were the newer Webroot Secure Anywhere 2012 products...NOT the old "Essientials"version?

    Also this I saw was one Amazon and did not have the new style box and no orange label on it saying activated at purchase...as those on ebay.
     
  4. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    while much more rare there are also some best buy essentials i have seen. if it shows the back of the box and there is a white sticker towards the bottom that says keycode and its blacked out its a best buy version.
     
  5. STV0726

    STV0726 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Posts:
    900
    I had Essentials and they have me a fee upgrade to Complete.
     
  6. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    normally essentials goes to plus from what i was told.
     
  7. country2

    country2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    Thanks all for reply. I knew it used to convert as last year I bought 2 -3 users Essentials and they did. Did not know if they had a cut off date or not for those last few old ones floating around for sale.
     
  8. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    What did it convert to?
     
  9. country2

    country2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    169

    Used the old key for automatic upgrade from Webroot Internet Security Essentials 2011 to the new WSA 2012
     
  10. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i think he meant which version plus or complete
     
  11. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Yes. ;) Thanks Z
     
  12. STV0726

    STV0726 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Posts:
    900
    No, I am pretty sure Essentials will go to Complete because Essenials users who relied on backupo and sync would be left without it in Plus. What once was a difference of GB allowance is now a total absence of feature in Plus.

    Joe, can I ask support to pre-upgrade my two inactivated licenses I have in storage so there is no confusion later?
     
  13. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    As far as I've seen, 2011 Essentials receives the same feature-set (which doesn't map onto a 2013 product exactly). You won't need to pre-upgrade as it will continue with the same functionality, and pre-upgrading will activate them, starting the days counting down.
     
  14. ViVek

    ViVek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    550
    Location:
    Moon
    Hello, I have not activated license for Webroot Essentials 2011, can someone explain me how I can convert it to WSA 2012? I'm planning to install WSA in next month.
    Thanks :thumb:
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2013
  15. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    The conversion should happen automatically, either already on the keycode, or when or shortly after you activate it. The keycode determines the product and that's just all a big database on the back end.
     
  16. ViVek

    ViVek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    550
    Location:
    Moon
    Thank you Techfox1976:thumb:
     
  17. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    so what will essentials end up being? what features will it have once its "upgraded" since it doesnt diectly become a 2013 product?? just curious since i know i have had at least one client who had one they brought in. we installed it for them and it did the key update thing but i was not the one who installed it and that person said they dont remember what it said version wise. thanks joe.
     
  18. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    The My Account screen will read Essentials.
     
  19. STV0726

    STV0726 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Posts:
    900
    Well then I'm going to ask customer service on twitter why they gave me an upgrade to Complete for having Essentials then, because you are right come to think of it...even though Backup and Sync is removed on Plus, as long as you are allowed to keep the Essentials package, you shouod be fine.
     
  20. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We switched between approaches - we were first looking to keep everyone on the same set of products but have since moved to leave the license features the same. On renewal, your license key will be changed to Complete.
     
  21. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    so the older completes will remain complete correct just with less backup storage space is this correct i.e. 10gb instead of the 25gb
     
  22. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    As far as I know, that's correct.
     
  23. country2

    country2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    169

    lol...Yes it was Complete.
     
  24. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Thanks country2. :)
     
  25. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    wow nice to know i have a couple essentials here ill have to give one a test since i was about to activate a complete anyway to see what it converts to
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.