can you help me to configure hips in v6?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by mantra, Jun 30, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    Hi

    can you help me to configure hips in v6?

    i did a fresh install of windows 7 64bit and i installed v6 update

    i run a full scan , no malware

    now which is the best way to configure hips?
    i read that i can set the hips to fire up only when i run new programs but i can't find the way

    i suppose to keep in learning mode for 2 weeks and after Automatic mode with rules ?
    i read https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=310120 but i did not get the right way

    i would appreciate any help

    thanks
     
  2. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    nobody can give me some advises

    thanks
     
  3. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Hi mantra,

    I don't know why no ESET moderator replied to your question. Maybe they are only replying to questions on their "new forum" (which has its own problems ... :ouch: ), or maybe they are still only replying here on ESET business programs questions. I don't know.
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,375
    We recommend users to use HIPS in default mode. If you are an experienced user, you can create your own rules, e.g. to ask before an application is run if no rule exists or if an application attempts to write to start keys.
     
  5. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Unless there is something that requires a specific change in your environment, I usually recommend leaving running in Automatic Mode with Rules.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  6. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    thanks!
    so no learning mode
    keep it in automatic
    i have only 1 rule , created by nod after the installtion
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.