Can TU 8.0 handle two SATA drives?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Charlie Wisc., Jan 27, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Charlie Wisc.

    Charlie Wisc. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Posts:
    31
    I know this question is similar to some other SATA threads, but I'm not literate enough to read thru the technospeak. Can anyone give me an answer at least close to "YES, TU can handle this" or "NO it can't". Much more technical than that is likely to whiz right over my head.
    -------
    My Dell 8400 came with one SATA hard drive connected to "SATA 0" on the motherboard. This is my "primary" hd. I bought a second SATA drive, exactly like the OEM (both are Western Digital Cavier SATA 160 Gig ). I plugged the second SATA into "SATA 1" on the motherboard. The SATA's are not set-up in a RAID configuration. Their independent, & run thru the motherboard - not a controller card.

    The second SATA drive works great! It's recognized by all my software - EXCEPT . . .

    I want to store images of my primary SATA drive on this new 2nd SATA drive. Ghost 9.0 puts images here nicely, verifies them; and even "explores" them in a widows explorer sense. BUT, when I boot the Symantec Recovery Disk to try and use the image that's on the 2nd HD to restore the primary drive - THE RECOVERY DISK CAN'T FIND THE 2nd HD !!!

    QUESTION - (remember I need a simple answer, please): Can True Image 8.0 handle my system with these two SATA drives?
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Charlie,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/).

    We cannot tell why Symantec products cannot work with your system. Acronis True Image should work with both your disks fine.

    You may download the trial version of Acronis True Image to be sure it works with your drives. The free demo version is available at http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/download/trueimage/.

    If you encounter any difficulties please tell the exact model name of your motherboard and describe the details of the problem. I will help you to solve it.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  3. Charlie Wisc.

    Charlie Wisc. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Posts:
    31
    Ilya:
    Thanks for your quick reply. One feature I'm VERY impressed with already, is the tech support that is apparently available with True Image. I will try-out the trial version. But I read that that version isn't "complete" in the sense that it can't restore images. Will I at least be able to determine if it can recognize an image file, once I store one on my second SATA drive?
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Charlie, as far as Ghost is concerned, I had the same problem. Actually my Ghost CD couldn't see either SATA HD.
    Fixed by pressing F6 and loading drivers from a floppy.

    An ealier build of TU 8 couldn't see either of my drives. I haven't tried the latest build.

    Brian
     
  5. jimshu1

    jimshu1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Posts:
    63
    I have multiple partitions on two SATA drives and image back and forth all of the time with TI. No problem. I really like True Image, after being a Ghost user for over four years.

    -ANTEC Sonata Black Case w/380w TruePower
    -ASUS P4C800-E DELUXE. Latest BIOS 1019
    -P4 / 3.0C GHZ SL6WK - Not OC'd
    -ALPHA PAL S-PAL8952T & 80mm SUNON case80HO FAN (exhausting)
    -Corsair TWINX1024-3200C2PT 1GB DDR400
    -ATI RADEON 9800 PRO AGP 8X 256MB DDR 256 BIT
    -SOUND BLASTER AUDIGY 2 ZS
    -MODEM BLASTER Model DI5633 v.92
    -2 x MAXTOR DiamondMax Plus 9 SATA 80Gb HD's (non-RAID)
    -1 x MAXTOR DiamondMax D740X-6L PATA 40Gb HD
    -ASUS Model DVD-E616P2 DVD-ROM
    -NEC Model ND-3500A DVD+-RW
    -ASUS CRW-4816A CD-RW
    -19" Monitor: SAMSUNG 955DF / Model PG19JSBL
    -Windows XP Pro 5.1.2600 SP2 w/all updates
    -LinkSys BEFSR41 v3 Cable/DSL Router and Cable Modem
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Charlie,

    When you boot the trial version from Acronis Bootable CD the limitation is that you cannot press the "Proceed" button in any wizard. So you will be able to choose the image you want to restore, the destination drive, the way you want to resize the destination partitions (if you want), etc. but in the end you won't be able to press the "Proceed" button because it will be greyed out. This is the only limitation of trial version version when you boot from Acronis Bootable CD.

    Also please note that all the drivers included in the full version are the same as included in the trial one. It means that if you can see your disks with the trial version you will be able to see them with the full one as well.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  7. Charlie Wisc.

    Charlie Wisc. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Posts:
    31
    A BIG thanks everyone!

    I've given the trail version a run. IT WORKS ! Almost.
    It made & verified an image of my primary drive; placing the image on my second SATA drive. Then, booting the complete rescue CD, it found the image! Finding the stored image is what Ghost 9.0 couldn't do.

    I didn't proceed any further.

    The "Almost" comment is because after booting from the complete rescue CD, my keyboard worked, BUT my mouse wouldn't. I tried this twice, and no mouse (not even a visible curser).

    I'm using Microsoft Intellipoint software. Wireless Comfort Keyboard 1.0A, and wireless Intellimouse Explorer 2.0 - the receiver is plugged into a USB port. The keyboard/mouse came with a USP/PS2 adapter.

    Should I be using the PS2 plug instead of the USB port?
     
  8. Charlie Wisc.

    Charlie Wisc. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Posts:
    31
    Without waiting for help on the mouse question, I plugged it into my PS2 "slot" for a trial.

    IT WORKS! Now when I boot the complete recovery disk, both wireless keyboard and wireless mouse (now in PS2 instead of USB) work just fine.

    I'm nearly "sold" on True Image over Ghost. Just need to browse the forum a bit more.
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Charlie,

    We are glad to hear you liked Acronis True Image. If you have any further questions concerning the software please feel free to ask them on this forum and I will answer you as soon as possible.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.