Can Trueimage read from a usb hard drive? Getting a file cannot be read error

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by GSS, Dec 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GSS

    GSS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    This is a continuation of this thread:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=227811

    So far in my bid to make a restore, I go through the process using the Manage and Restore wizard, the operation begins, and it asks me to reboot the machine otherwise if I don't then the operation will cancel. Fair enough.

    When I reboot, the software begins the restore process (acronis loader comes up in the midst of the boot up sequence). It then gives a dialog saying "Error, file cannot be read" and press retry or cancel. Unfortunately the mouse or keyboard does not work so I can't do anything but reboot.

    My image is on a USB hard drive, and it has been verified. The usb hard drive itself is working fine. I am using Vista Home Premium 32 bit and Acronis True Image 2009 (trial version though).
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Have you tried booting to the TI CD and performing the Restore instead of starting it in Windows?

    For the TI CD, have you tried the quiet acpi=off noapic option detailed in Section II of the PLEASE READ BEFORE YOU POST thread?
     
  3. GSS

    GSS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    I'm running the trial version, which I downloaded. So I don't have any software cds.

    I am reading that link now, though.

    Also getting familiar with the vista pe thing.

    Thanks!

    None of this was mentioned in the help documentation (vistape, etc).
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    You should be able to create a TI CD with the trial version. It will be limited to doing Restores.
     
  5. GSS

    GSS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    I am assuming that is the bootable rescue media option.

    This will sound naive, but can I still use my usb hard drive when doing the restore from this cd? Or would my image have to be on the K:/ partition of my C:/ drive (to clarify, my c drive was split into c:/ and k:/ partitions - I have a backed up image of the c:/ partition on the c:/ drive. I know this naming convention isn't very good).

    Thanks
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Assuming TI has the necessary drivers for the computer's chipsets, you should be able to use your USB drive.
     
  7. GSS

    GSS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    10
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    That message usually means that the Full Mode version doesn't have the necessary Linux drivers included. Try using the quiet acpi=off noapic option detailed in Section II of the PLEASE READ BEFORE YOU POST thread?

    You don't need to make a SZ. TI installed in the SZ is the same TI than runs from the CD (it would have the same problem).
     
  9. GSS

    GSS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    Hi,

    The prompt mentioned in the link, where I should enter that command, does not stay. What I mean is before the gui for recovery manager appears, I see some text on a black background (As you see in the bootup), and then it dissapears and the recovery manager comes up. This is so quick that I can't even read what the text says. It seems like I enter the above command in there.

    However, I guess I can enter the above command in the command parameters when I make my bootup media? In that case, I will make another dvd. I read the section about whether I can or can't boot into the linux kernel settings, but I have no indication I have accessed it (E.g. screen doesn't stay).

    It is not an issue that I don't have a backup image in SZ is it (this is me just worrying I guess)? The app says this is for doing a restore at boot time (as I intend to) but my backup is not in SZ (esp. as I've come from v11).
     
  10. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    When you boot the TI CD, you press F11 at the Acronis menu and then type in the command.
    F11-TI-2009.jpg

    You can try this too, but it's more useful to do this after you know if the parameters work or not.

    Don't worry about this. You don't need to have an image in the SZ. The image just needs to be accessible by TI.
     
  11. GSS

    GSS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    I typed the command in at that prompt, exactly how it was written in one of your links, but still get the same problem.

    I did try the cd/command parameter idea but got the same problem again, too.

    That problem is "Acronis true image cannot find any hard disk drives". That is when I click the option to start recovery in that gui (like the screenshot you have). After I click that and before the error, I see a black screen and some text for a split second and there is a line which says "no drives found".
     
  12. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    You will probably need to contact Acronis Support and request a custom build that includes the drivers for your computer. However, I don't know if they do that for the trial version. You could try contacting them via their Live Chat service and ask.
     
  13. GSS

    GSS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    Fortunately I've got it to work. I did a restore via the program.

    Trueimage is great! I guess all the backups I've made and the persistance has paid off.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.