Can true image clone or image TIVO drive?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jozwikjp, Feb 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jozwikjp

    jozwikjp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Can I duplicate or make a good image of my tivo drive with true image?
     
  2. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    A Tivo newsgroup or forum would be the best place to find an answer.

    Xpilot
     
  3. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Which of your computers can see the TIVO hard drive and display its contents in Widows Explorer? Do you have TI installed on that computer? If so, you should be able to make a backup of the drive although you might have to make a Files backup instead of an image.

    At that point, you can experiment.
     
  4. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Hi jozwikjp

    Tivo is Linux. TI usually looses the boot loader for Linux. Do a Google search for MFS Tool 2. It's a free utility that will allow you to backup or upgrade your Tivo to a larger hard drive. Also get Hinsdale's How To to see how to use MFS Tools.
     
  5. jozwikjp

    jozwikjp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Thanks guys..

    I will give it a go with the MFS tools.. Just was hoping I could cheat and do a quicker fix..
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.