Can someone help me out...

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by disinter1, Nov 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. disinter1

    disinter1 Guest

    Okay, in outpost I go to "blocked last 10 min" and I want to allow something that is blocked, and it blocks "out refused" I have no damn idea how to allow this, I allowed mostly everything I know that relates to what I want allowed in the first place. But please help, I've been trying to figure this out for the past few days.:(
     
  2. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    What is the full log entry for this blocked packet?
     
  3. disinter1

    disinter1 Guest

    process name: n/a
    direction: out refused
    protocol: ICMP
    remote address:
    remote port: echo reply/0
    reason: ICMP traffic


    Is it safe to post the remote address?
     
  4. TECHWG

    TECHWG Guest

    please :D
     
  5. TECHWG

    TECHWG Guest

    although i would say its probably telling you that youtr system wanted to respond to a bad icmp packet and its telling you "hey i stopped it for you"
    i recall seeing something similar when i had outpost
     
  6. Paranoid2000

    Paranoid2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,839
    Location:
    North West, United Kingdom
    Assuming that you are running a recent version of Outpost, the solution is to click on the "Attack Detection" heading in the left-hand pane of Outpost's main window - this should show a "Blocked Hosts" list where you can unblock individual entries.

    If you wish to avoid having that address blocked in future, consider adding it to Attack Detection Properties/Advanced/Exclusions/Hosts as a Trusted Host. Alternatively, disable the blocking feature (Attack Detection Properties/Alerts/Actions/Block intruder for...) if it creates too many false positives for you.
     
  7. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Hi disinter1,
    If you check the default settings for ICMP, you will note that ICMP echo reply is blocked from outbound.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. disinter1

    disinter1 Guest

    I will try out all this good info, and I will get back to you, thanks!!:eek:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.