Can not get Try and Decide to loadup

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by marcusaurelius, Nov 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. marcusaurelius

    marcusaurelius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    I have been waiting for help from the acronis support but I haven't received any answer. I am unable to get the Try and Decide to load up. I click the start button, wait a couple minutes then all I get is the Failed to Start error, no messages or info with it.

    This is the new TI Home release. There is no 'About' link that shows the current version info nor is there any means of contacting Acronis from within the program.

    Has anyone any insightful info that may assist me?

    Thanx for your time.
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
    What OS and Service Pack are you using?

    Have you created a Secure Zone?

    To find the build number, you can access the standard Help >> About menu by pressing the Alt key.
     
  3. anita_george104

    anita_george104 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Hi, i'm having this same problem. I have created the secure zone which has 50GB free space. I am using windows xp service pack 3. I am using Acronis True Image Home 2009 (build 9,615). I also cannot activate the acronis recovery startup manager as it brings up the message that "the files required for activating the acronis secure zone are not available. Please reinstall acronis true image home" I already have the secure zone activated so i don't know why it is asking me that. I reinstalled anyway but no joy (could it be due to the fact that my hard drive is NTFS and the secure zone is FAT32 thus causing a problem?). Sorry marcusaurelius, i didn't mean to hijack your post, i just really want to get these problems sorted (especially try and decide) as it was one of the main reasons i bought the software.

    Thanks for the time,
    Anita x
     
  4. anita_george104

    anita_george104 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    I have tried the acronis technical support but have not received a response after 4 days. Can anyone help me on here? I have two kids who use the PC with me and i have got 2 massive viruses due to them. Therefore the try and decide mode was the deal-breaker in me getting the software. If it doesn't work i will have to get a refund (something that i really do not want but may be forced to do). Thanks
     
  5. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    'Try and Decide' (T&D) is not a substitution for a virus scanner :eek:
    T&D is not like a 'virtual machine'...

    Better is to make your kids sensitive. To teach them how they have to move in the internet.
    To use T&D is an illusory safety.
     
  6. anita_george104

    anita_george104 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Hi,

    I understand that but it would still enable me to sit comfortably knowing that any changes they make can be removed at the touch of a button. I have taught my kids about computer safety but kids will be kids i'm afraid and sometimes their inquisitiveness can get the better of them!
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
    If T&D will work properly, it should help with what you want. I would also suggest that you make sure you have a good (clean) image of the Entire Disk and keep it current. That way, you also have the option to restore the drive to a previous state if T&D fails you or you have other problems.

    For help with the T&D problem, have you tried the Live Chat support option?
     
  8. anita_george104

    anita_george104 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    hi mudcrab, i thought the live chat option was only for pre sales questions. Are you saying that it is ok for me to use it to ask for help regarding my problem? It would certainly be faster than sending an email. Thanks
     
  9. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
    Yes. It's a support option. Acronis Support usually suggests using it in their posts (it's much quicker than emailing). Some people have reported that there was a big delay or no response with Live Chat. If that happens, I'd try again after a bit. The time I used it, the response was quick.
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello marcusaurelius and anita_george104,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Could you please let us know your Acronis request number (e.g. [Acronis #123456]) which was sent to you in autoreply to your letter? We will find out how the investigation of your issue is going. If you have not received an autoreply then please send us a Private Message containing your e-mail address.

    marcusaurelius, please make sure you use the latest build (9615) of Acronis True Image Home 2009. To get access to updates you should first register your software. As noted by MudCrab, you need to press "Alt" key ("F10" key also works) to see the menus.

    If the issue appears with the build 9615, please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly:

    Please create Acronis Report and Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please also collect a screenshot of the error message, and describe settings of Try&Decide mode (in case you have changed them from default).

    Then submit a request for technical support or use our Live Chat service. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will do our best to investigate the problem and provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.