Can I run NOD32 (trial) with KAV 5 Personal (trial)

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Cyborg, Jul 19, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cyborg

    Cyborg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Posts:
    78
    I have installed KAV 5 Personal as a trial.

    The only "Virus" it found was a false positive in TDS-3 "desres.exe or Trojan.Win32.Qhost.cq" which I have reported in the TDS-3 forums.

    What I would like to know is can I also install NOD32 trial obviously ensuring KAV is off when I install it.

    Then what I propose to do is say run NOD32 for one day then KAV the next just to compare and see which I like ithe best in respect of ease of use. I assume that both programmes are equally as good as each other in respect of what they were designed to do i.e. spot a Virus before it gets a hold.

    When you install Trial Programmes and then uninstall via the Control Panel Add/Remove Programmes does this take everything out or leave unused registry files behind which can build up and slow your PC down?

    Thanks
     
  2. beetlejuice69

    beetlejuice69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    780
    I`m pretty sure you can disable Kav while you`re trying NOD and visa versa.
     
  3. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    I would recommend that you uninstall Kav, before installing Nod, it will give you a more fair trial of both. :)
     
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    that depends from product to product, but it doesnt hurt to run a registry cleaner after an uninstall.
     
  5. hadi

    hadi Guest

    yes you can. supposing that KAV is running. now install NOD and before restart do this
    start>run
    type
    msconfig
    hit ok
    click startup tab
    untick all KAV related entries
    hit ok and restart
    Now NOD is taking over

    DO msconfig VICE VERSA TO GO BACK TO KAV

    No it does not. it leave unused registry files behind. INstall program through TU2(free) see here
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=84452&highlight=total uninstall
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=84179&highlight=total uninstall
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=80785&highlight=total uninstall
     
  6. Cyborg

    Cyborg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Posts:
    78
    Thanx guys,

    Some great tips - I will go with what Hadi suggests :)
     
  7. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    just to be safe u should also go to the run command, type services.msc and also disables the services related to the AV u wish to disable.
     
  8. hadi

    hadi Guest

    not necessary.
     
  9. Cyborg

    Cyborg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Posts:
    78
    Everything is running OK apart from in the Windows Security Center. I have to check the option that I have my own software and will monitor it myself as it tells me that KAV is not enabled, which it isn't but it does not recognise NOD32 in the same way.

    If I right click on a file that I have downloaded and what I wish to check for issues, nothing comes up telling me NOD32 has checked it as the download finishes, so I do it manually.

    KAV is seen when I right click on the file to check it manually and Windows tells me it is disabled and would I like to enable it. I can scan with NOD32 that way for an indivual film clip of a new game or demo etc but it is clear that Windows views KAV as the real thing for protection that is loaded on my PC even though it is all disabled.

    Will I therefore have to uninstall KAV completely before Windows recognises NOD32 or is it that Windows will not recognise NOD32 either way? Would clearing out the Prefectch folder in Windows help?

    How can I change things so that NOD32 will autoscan incoming files i.e. so that is part of the Windows Security Center?

    Thanx
     
  10. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    for me the security center detects it, but even if i disable the modules, it still thinks it on. so make sure the services and startup are enabled and that all the modules are loaded and enabled.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.