Can I make an app to be trusted in ThreatFire?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Leach, May 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Leach

    Leach Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Posts:
    84
    Guess it's a silly question but I'm new to TF and my attempts to let an app run failed. TF always kicks out an app, quarantines and says it's a trojan, I disagree with that. We have been arguing but TF is winning so far. I saw here several users and would like anyone could explain how to make TF 'blind' to a particular app it considers a malware, please.
     
  2. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,890
    Location:
    Canada
    exclude the application within tf
     
  3. Leach

    Leach Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Posts:
    84
    jmonge, thank you for your answer. Hi.

    Are you saying I should put the program's name onto the 'ThreatFire->Advanced Tools->Custom Rule Settings->Process Lists->Trusted? Yes, the app is within that list and the box is checked but it won't help a bit, TF ignores it. Also tried to add a rule onto the 'Custom Rules' list and made some exclusions but couldn't manage it as well. The rule's check box was marked too, may be I made it somewhat wrong.
     
  4. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    What is the app?
     
  5. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,890
    Location:
    Canada
    Leach that is very strange isue
     
  6. Leach

    Leach Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Posts:
    84
    Greg S, hi.

    Thank you, I think it's never mind now as I found some pretty remarkable thread on ThreatFire forums. Here.
    It's just impossible to exclude a detected malware currently... 'cause that's how it works... The only way is to send'em a link or an app so that they can include it into PUA. Nonsense. Anyways meanwhile I've found another app detected as a malware on my PC. That one was great :D - 'cause twas one, absolutely harmless, just packed with a non standard EXE-packer with extra... features to say. Don't think I can use ThreatFire with that restrictions. Have to find something else.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.