Can I /How do I restore on a new sytem?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by martin7, May 25, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. martin7

    martin7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    I'm planning to build a new quad core system. Can restore backed up operating systems on new partitions in this new set up?
    M7
     
  2. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    Yes, that is new straight correct.
     
  3. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    If you mean can you restore an existing backed up OS from a different machine to the new machine then the answer is a qualified yes. There will be driver issues and the need for a Windows repair as a minimum. If you have TI workstation and the optional Universal Restore then the job should be easier because that is its intended use.

    Some of us prefer to do a new clean install with a new machine - good opportunity to get rid of the unused junk and clutter and you won't be wondering if some obscure problem is caused by force-fitting the old OS image.
     
  4. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    SeekForever is correct. It might work, but there's also a good chance that you won't be able to get the restored image to boot. If the drivers are too different, the system may not even boot into Safe Mode to allow you to install new drivers. In that case, a repair won't work either.

    In such a case, reinstalling Windows XP as an "upgrade in place" will force a new hardware abstraction layer (HAL) to be generated, and allow you to install the necessary new drivers. Google "upgrade in place" for instructions. You will need a Windows XP installation CD - not just an OEM recovery CD.

    The good news is that the upgrade in place does not destroy your data or uninstall your programs. They will be there after the reinstallation. The bad news is that you will have to install all the Windows updates again since they are lost. However, since Windows XP SP3 is out, that is now a much easier one step process.
     
  5. martin7

    martin7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks everyone. I will investigate 'upgrade in place'. I'd happily start from scratch but I've used my xp installation so many times trying to set up a dual boot system, I have to jump through hoops to get it activated now. And, of course, I've got everything loaded in the images.
    m7
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.