Can I Backup/Verify/Shutdown

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by davshu, Dec 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. davshu

    davshu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Posts:
    25
    I am testing True Image 11 on a Vista Laptop.
    I like the Backup Location feature.

    I am trying to create a scheduled task that does a full backup once a week and a differential the other 6.

    I would like the task to:
    1) Backup
    2) Verify
    3) Shutdown

    I tried putting Shutdown.exe as a Post Backup command, but it was going to do that before the Verify. That way I can just leave it to work and then shut itself down each evening.

    Is this possible to do?

    Dave
     
  2. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Not directly in ATI. As you have seen, the Post commands are post-backup- creation but not post-validation.

    If you run a backup task from a batch file, I believe you can put a shutdown instruction in the batch file.

    The task command line command would be "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\TrueImageHome\tureimagehomeservice.exe" /script: "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Acronis\TrueImageHome\Scripts\[sciptfilenamehere]"

    That's with ATI 11; with ATI 11 the directory and service filename don't have "home" in them.

    For the shutdown command in XP, this should help:

    SHUTDOWN [-i | -l | -s | -r | -a] [-f] [-m \\computername] [-t xx] [-c "c
    omment"] [-d up:xx:yy]

    No args Display this message (same as -?)
    -i Display GUI interface, must be the first option
    -l Log off (cannot be used with -m option)
    -s Shutdown the computer
    -r Shutdown and restart the computer
    -a Abort a system shutdown
    -m \\computername Remote computer to shutdown/restart/abort
    -t xx Set timeout for shutdown to xx seconds
    -c "comment" Shutdown comment (maximum of 127 characters)
    -f Forces running applications to close without warning
    -d [p]:xx:yy The reason code for the shutdown
    u is the user code
    p is a planned shutdown code
    xx is the major reason code (positive integer less than 256)
    yy is the minor reason code (positive integer less than 65536)
    I believe the command works the same way in Vista.
     
  3. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
    Hi Davshu,
    In order to get your computer to shut down after your backup validation process, please do the following:

    -Open notepad and paste in this syntax: %SystemRoot%\System32\shutdown.exe -s -t 0 .The 0 at the end of this command line is the number of seconds it takes the computer to shutdown by itself.
    -Change the 0 at the end of the command line for the number of seconds it takes to do your regular backup(+the validation process) so that your computer may stay awake until the end of the validation process.

    -Save it with a .bat extension.In your post command set up ,retrieve this .bat file to make it part of your scheduled task.
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2007
  4. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
    Hi Savshu,
    You're welcome.You seem so grateful that you make me feel uncomfortable.
    And don't forget to come back on this forum if you have any other queries.
    We are all at your service awaiting your questions.:D
     
  5. davshu

    davshu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Posts:
    25
    Thank you all for your replies.

    I've been waiting for a reply form Acronis - which I got last night.

    Your answers are better, but I was looking for a way to do it without creating a batch job outside the program or having to estimate how long the backup will take.

    It would seem like a simle thing for Acronis to have a PostVerification command available, but I guess not.

    The also don't allow you to schedule the backup to run at shutdown on Vista for some reason.

    Dave
     
  6. hexmaniac

    hexmaniac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    If you know how long the backup will take to run, use the task scheduler to run shutdown.exe. Once you create the task, you can just change the time you want to run it. I use it to shutdown after backups, recording, etc. I set the task to run and go to bed.
     
  7. davshu

    davshu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Posts:
    25
    Thanks.
     
  8. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
    Hi,
    You don't have to estimate or guess that time.
    Just open up your last log where there's a time stamp for every step of the backup.
     
  9. davshu

    davshu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Posts:
    25
    Thanks, I just got the following response from Acronis a half hour ago:

    > This is the known issue that the post commands are being run before the validation. Our development team is working with his discrepancy. This will be fixed in one of the next build.

    Dave
     
  10. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Jsut remember that every backup of a praticular source disk to a particular target doesn't take the same amount of time to run. It depends on the number fo files, any rereads/rewites that are required, anything else running using up computer resources, etc. So be sure to allow for that.

     
  11. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
    Hi,
    Of course I meant to allow a safe margin too.It's logical and this margin cost nothing more.
     
  12. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
    Hi,
    This is a problem that I was aware of.It has already been discussed in a previous thread.
    That's why I came up with my ''solution''.
     
  13. NetProf

    NetProf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    > This is the known issue that the post commands are being run before the validation. Our development team is working with his discrepancy. This will be fixed in one of the next build.<

    Discrepancy appears still not to be fixed in Workstation build 8039.

    Workaround with command-line execution of script does solve the shutdown problem, but no notification e-mails are send.
    Is there a command-line syntax for trueimagenotify.exe ?
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2008
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.