Can ATI 2009 operate flawlessly with an external USB HDD?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Kuysao, Oct 25, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kuysao

    Kuysao Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    I want to backup my entire laptop's hard disk to an external USB HDD with ATI 2009. Is this possible? I mean, can I backup and then restore my hard disk from an external USB HDD?

    I ask this question because with previous verisons of ATI I simply could not do it. The laptop just halted whenever I tried to restore my hard disk.
     
  2. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    Have you tried another USB cable ? preferably as short as possible. I know it's a long shot but I have seen a situation where a new cable and everything was fine. Do you have a second external ? they are not all the same and one external will work fine with Acronis but not so well with Shadow protect and another will be the other way round. externals are so cheap now that I would buy one before trying other software.
     
  3. como

    como Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    498
    Another solution is to build a BartPE or VistaPE disk, they will use Windows drivers instead of Linux drivers which the rescue disk uses
     
  4. Faust

    Faust Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    258
    I had problems with previous ATI versions when restoring from an external HD. The problems I had were very long restore times, so built a VistaPE disk which resolved all problems. However, I downloaded the new 2009 trial version the other night and it worked flawlessly for both backups and restores without the need for the VistaPE disk. I would download the trial version and give it a go. On thing I would strongly suggest though and that is search your entire computer for any remnants of previous versions and delete them before installing the new version - good luck.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Kuysao,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Could you please clarify, how was the restore set up? At what point did it halt? What version and build of Acronis True Image were you using? You can find the full version name and build number by going to Help -> About... menu in the main program window.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.