Can anyone tell me what this means? (PLEASE!)

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by mistrigf, Jul 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mistrigf

    mistrigf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Good morning all! Found this in my in events log this morning, can anyone helpo_O?


    Time Module Event User
    19/07/2007 21:53:14 Update Function: gethostbyname, parameters: , return value: 11004


    Thanks Sara (the numpty!)
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2007
  2. The_Duality

    The_Duality Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    This will usually occur on system startup, when NOD attempts to update before an internet connection is established. It cannot obtain the host name for the update server, so the update will fail - and the error recorded in the NOD log. I hope this answers your question!

    Welcome to Wilders :thumb:
     
  3. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    I might be wrong but as far as I know what you describe is related to error 11001 (no i-net connection)
     
  4. The_Duality

    The_Duality Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    Ooops! You are correct HiTech :thumb:

    Apologies :)
     
  5. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Not neccesary , let's wait someone confirms , I also don't know what 11004 means
     
  6. The_Duality

    The_Duality Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    With the update function being "gethostbyname", it seems to me that NOD was unable to resolve the host name... which usually for me is indicative of a connection problem. We shall wait and see :thumb:
     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
  8. The_Duality

    The_Duality Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    Looks like a connection error to me... o_O
     
  9. Gamer

    Gamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Posts:
    38
    Opening TCP & UDP port 53 on my firewall solved the problem.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.