Can an image be read by different ATI products?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Kuysao, Nov 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kuysao

    Kuysao Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    For example, I create an image of my system drive using Acronis True Image Home 11. After that I want to restore that image, however, using Acronis True Image Server 9.5. Is it possible?
     
  2. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Probably not. Acronis changes the format every now and then and older versions have no way of understanding newer formats. As a rule, TI is quite good for new versions reading older versions, much better than the guaranteed one version earlier they state for the Home product.

    For the Home version of TI there was a format change part way through TI9, followed by a change with the introduction of TI11 and again with the introduction of TI2009. I would imagine the non-Home versions are similarly changed.
     
  3. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    You could use the Acronis rescue CD for Version 11 that you created earlier. That would work.

    Xpilot
     
  4. Kuysao

    Kuysao Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    Thanks all. I will give it a try
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    Acronis guarantees one-version-back compatibility for different versions of the same product. This means that current product version will work with backups created with one-generation-older version.

    E.g. Acronis True Image 11 Home will work with backups created by Acronis True Image 10.0 Home. Restoring backups created by older versions (Acronis True Image 9.0 and older) is also possible, but error-free data recovery is not guaranteed.

    In your case, it is possible to recover an image made with Acronis True Image Home 11 using your Acronis True Image Echo Server product.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexander Nikolsky
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.