Can Acronis Ture Image 10 do this??

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by greshoff, Apr 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. greshoff

    greshoff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    This is my situation. I have 2 hard drives on my computer. The first drive is currently partitioned into 2 partitions with a dual boot with XP & Vista. The 2nd hard drive has a single partition. The first partition has XP on it the 2nd partition has Vista. What I have done is make a clone of the Vista partition which is saved on hard drive 2. I want to reformat the Vista partition on the 1st drive and merge it with the XP partition using partition magic, then restore the Vista image on the single enlarged partition. I assume XP will be overwritten and I will be left with a single booting computer with vista.

    Is this possible doing it how I have described?
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2007
  2. greshoff

    greshoff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Can anyone answer my question?
     
  3. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Yes it can be done. But first clarify that it is not a Clone of the Vista that you did but a Backup Image. I don't think you actually have to reformat the Vista part, just delete everything on it once the Backup Image has been made. Then use Partition Magic to Merge the partitions. (you will have to have PM installed on the XP Part.)
    Next be sure to have the bootable True Image CD made, because the next step will erase XP and all the programs you have installed in the XP Part.
    Boot with the True Image CD and use the Recover feature to put the Vista Image on to the drive that now has the single partition.
     
  4. greshoff

    greshoff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Hi,

    Thanks for the reply. I am new to Acronis True Image so I may have used incorrect terms . What I did was boot from the CD and followed the instructions for creating a backup which was stored in the hidden Acronis section of my 2nd hard drive. Does this make sense?
     
  5. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    But bear in mind that the image that you made of your Vista installation has a boot configuration data base which reflects the configuration of the original dual boot installation. So doing what is suggested will almost certainly result in Vista being unbootable.

    You will have to at least edit the Vista BCD to reflect the new configuration and I am not sure how the system will cope as it has been moved from drive 1 to drive 0.

    Xpilot
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello greshoff,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please note that this should be possible. However, as Xpilot mentioned most probably the restored Windows Vista will be unbootable because Windows Vista boot loader files, which were on the active partition (most probably Windows XP partition in your system) will be missed, and you will need to use Windows Vista DVD to perform Startup Repair.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  7. greshoff

    greshoff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Thank you for the reply. So once I have reformatted the XP partition and I have booted from the VistaDVD and run the start up repair I will have a booting vista partition. Is this correct?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.