Can A Renewal Add an Additional Computer?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by rnfolsom, Oct 27, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rnfolsom

    rnfolsom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Posts:
    247
    Location:
    Monterey, California
    I have three computers all running NOD32 on the same username and password. Those three licenses will expire on 02 November 2012.

    But I have acquired a fourth computer which won't be set up until after 02 November. Nevertheless, I would like it to use the same username and password, and have the same future expiration date (02 November 2014 for a two year license renewal), as my first three computers.

    Eset's renewal website (http://go.eset.com/us/renew/?lang=1033&dguid=19&username=AV-4390378) apparently lets me add a fourth (or even a fifth) computer for my renewal --- but I'm not sure that I am understanding that website.

    When I renew my current username and password license, can I add a fourth computer to my current set of three? If I can, do I need to wait until 01 November to do so?

    Roger Folsom

    P.S. Details that are behind my question are in the "Lost days from NOD32 license after renewing" thread (https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=332843) in my post, #27. My post is available also at https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=2135766&postcount=27
     
  2. wolliballa

    wolliballa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Posts:
    90
    Location:
    Germany
    Make it a 2-Step process:
    First renew your license, then add another +1-PC. Consumer licenses run up to 5 machines........
     
  3. rnfolsom

    rnfolsom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Posts:
    247
    Location:
    Monterey, California
    If I understand your two step procedure, your first step would be for only three licenses. Then I fear that your second step of buying a license for a fourth computer won't get me the "volume discount" that a successful one-step four-computer renewal might get me for the fourth computer. Instead the fourth computer will cost me the same price as if I were a new ESET customer buying a license for only one computer.

    So on Monday or Tuesday (29-30 October, after I have updated my third computer to NOD32 v5.2.9.1), I will try my one-step renew four computers approach. If that doesn't work --- i.e. if I am able to renew only three computers --- I will try your two step approach.

    Thanks for your reply.

    Roger Folsom
     
  4. wolliballa

    wolliballa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Posts:
    90
    Location:
    Germany
    typically adding a new license to the remaining runtime of the license is about 10 EUR (at least here in Germany ), which is far less than the prolonging costs for a 2yr renewal. The maths might not fit, if you run for a 1 yr renewal only...

    Renewal 3PCs / 2yrs 37,68 Euro
    +1 /2 yrs 11,90 Euro

    Sum 49.58 6.19 /PC/yr

    If you do it in one go ( not shure wheter your partner is able to do that ((I can))
    Renewal / add +1 2yrs
    Sum 47,36 Euro 5.92 /PC/yr

    Add 1+ / remaining runtime 11.90
    Renewal 4 PCs 2 yrs 43,97 Euro
    Sum 55.87 / 6.98 / PC/yr

    Again, as you see on a per annum base it is just pennies............
     
  5. rnfolsom

    rnfolsom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Posts:
    247
    Location:
    Monterey, California
    Agreed. My major concern isn't cost (although, admittedly, my message to which you are responding does suggest that money is my primary concern). The primary reason I will try a one-step four computer "renewal" is so that all four computers have the same username and the same password, and all have the same license expiration date.

    I should have made clear earlier that if my primary concern were saving money, I would not bother with licensing the fourth computer until I was ready to install NOD32 on it (and that may be a month or more; learning to set up and use Windows7 will be a serious time sink for me because my current Windows experience is Win2kSp4 and WinXPsp3, and Windows7 is very different --- but not as different as Windows8 would be! (I'm hoping that by the time Microsoft's support for Windows7 dies in 2020, either Microsoft or some third party will have added a start menu that I can customize the way I want it. I definitely do not want a computer that requires me to put my grubby paws on the screen.)

    In any case, I don't see any disadvantages to trying a one-step approach.

    Roger Folsom
     
  6. wolliballa

    wolliballa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Posts:
    90
    Location:
    Germany
    In all cases you will have the same ID/Psw. So do it the way most convenient. And you will be able to use any version which is suitable for your OS, may it be XP or Win8.
     
  7. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi rnfolsom
    Here is a few, How to Bring the Start Menu Back in Windows 8

    Take Care
    TheQuest :cool:
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2012
  8. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    rnfolsom - you're in California, so as a US reseller, I can tell you what the US process is...

    you can add a single license at renewal - or - within 60 days of renewal.

    So - you can do it now - or at some point in the future. You can also do it directly with ESET - or through your reseller of choice.

    What you need to get this done are:

    1. ESET username + Password
    2. email address used to register/purchase your original license (or the one on record now for that license).

    hth

    Greg
     
  9. bcronin

    bcronin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    Hyde Park, NY USA
    I'm using Stardock's Start8 and it is good enough for me. Almost never see the horrid fullscreen "modern" Win8 interface.
    --
    bc
     
  10. manak

    manak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Posts:
    78
    There is an another good solution! Stay on Windows 7 :)
     
  11. bcronin

    bcronin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    Hyde Park, NY USA
    Agreed, if you're a home user with older hardware there's little reason to upgrade.
    --
    bc
     
  12. rnfolsom

    rnfolsom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Posts:
    247
    Location:
    Monterey, California
    First: No way would I ever want Win8. My experience with Microsoft has always been to wait for the first service pack. And I have no interest in an operating system that tries --- as Steve Ballmer said somewhere (according to a Wall Street Journal article) --- to be a single computer to use for business and entertainment. A touch screen would drive me nuts. I've been thinking on a keyboard for more than half a century. My fourth computer will use Windows7 Sp1. [I'm agreeing with Manak's message #10.]

    With regard to your responses to this thread: Thanks for your clarifications and encouragement. Yesterday (Tuesday 30 October) I finished customizing my computer's new NOD32 v5.2.9.1 settings, and (more important) replacing my wife's NOD32 v4.2.71.2 with NOD32 v5.2.9.1.

    So today I went to Renew/Upgrade: ESET Security Software (http://go.eset.com/us/renew/?lang=1033&dguid=19). The first column is for Smart Security 5, the second for NOD32 Antivirus 5. I had already decided that I didn't need SS5's extra features, so I clicked on the Continue button, and in the Antivirus5 column (even though my existing license was for only 3 computers) I "renewed" a two year license for 4 computers for only $101.99. I could have "renewed" 5 computers, for $126.99, but if I ever get to need 5 computers for a two member family, even temporarily, that will indicate that I need much help from a mental health professional.

    In short, to my pleased surprise, the "one step" approach which we have discussed worked, even though the Eset website didn't make that clear. (On the other hand, the Eset website didn't forbid my "one step" approach, even though Eset knew that my previous license was for only three computers.)

    The rest of the renewal --- with one exception --- was straightforward: update my credit card information, etc.

    The exception was that when Eset asked for my purchase-account login, I thought it wanted the same password that I had used for installing NOD32 v2.x, 4.x, and now 5.x. But that failed, because the purchase-account password is different from the user password. Fortunately I had a previous purchase record that told me the Eset purchase-account password. But if I hadn't had that, Eset's website said that it would email me a new password (which I could then change).

    In short, my "one-step" attempt to "renew" my NOD32 license to extend it from three to four computers did work.

    Roger Folsom
     
  13. bcronin

    bcronin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    Hyde Park, NY USA
    That's good news, thanks for being the testcase ...
    --
    bc
     
  14. rnfolsom

    rnfolsom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Posts:
    247
    Location:
    Monterey, California
    Greg:

    Thanks for that 60 days information. If I had known that, I would not have needed to start and contribute to this thread!

    Re passwords, see my post #12 to wolliballa, next-to-past paragraph.

    I'm curious about how anyone would find a re-seller of Eset software. (Maybe re-sellers are available only to top secret government agencies, such as the CIA?) In 2005 I found Eset's v2.x only because some very respected website --- whose name doesn't come to mind --- rated it very highly, and my renewals (including today's) have always dealt with Eset directly. I have been pleased with Eset's website, so I don't know what advantages there would be if I dealt with a re-seller. Maybe only large businesses who buy large quantities of Eset software use re-sellers?

    Roger Folsom
     
  15. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    ahh.. how do you find a reseller?? Good question - they used to have a reseller locator on their website - but took it down (much to our dismay) - I guess you could google "ESET partner" - or "ESET reseller" - you can use the old pages:

    http://go.eset.com/us/partners/reseller/?state=CO

    change CO to your state - but I cannot guarantee they keep this up to date now they basically removed the partner locator front-end.

    Yes, passwords are tricky - customers always ask us why the store login/password cannot be the same as the ESET username/password - the answer is simple - many customers have multiple purchases, so it is necessary to have these different from the ESET license information... on our site, store login is email address - and password of the customer's choosing - if they lose it, we can reset it - and once they login, they can change it again to one of their own liking. We also make available all notes on orders - such as license information once you have logged into the online store.

    One thing we did recently - is when renewal comes around you get a personal renewal link - if you follow that - it pre-fills much of the information for renewal - the ONLY thing you need is your store password - and once again, if you forget that, you can have it emailed to you... ;)
     
  16. rnfolsom

    rnfolsom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Posts:
    247
    Location:
    Monterey, California
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.