Calomel SSL Validation for FF

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by CloneRanger, Oct 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,918
    Found something which "might" turn out to be a gem of an Add On :)


    https://calomel.org/firefox_ssl_validation.html

    s.gif

    o.gif

    p.gif

    a.gif

    MORE
     
  2. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,918
  3. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    This one can do wonders if paid attention to. Definitely a keeper. Thanks:thumb:
     
  4. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    nice/interesting find, will give it go when it becomes available for the latest FF 4 64bit trunks
     
  5. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,115
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    This info is already in the browser I guess.

    Green- 256 bit encryption
    Yellow- 128 bit encryption
    Red- 128 bit encryption plus mixed content( https n http)


    Selection_001.png
    Selection_002.png
    Selection_003.png
     
  6. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    not really, you are talking about chrome and a tiny bit of SSL info, whilst it concerns FF and actually enforces/enhances SSL
     
  7. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,918
    Some weird things are happening since i installed this which i "think" is in some way connected with it ! I was trying out some malware links when one of them was intercepted !

    att.gif

    That should NOT happen as i unticked these boxes ages ago in Options

    op-sec.gif

    To my complete surprise i found them both ticked :eek: and not only those but this one too ?

    op-spel.gif

    To prove it wasn't a fluke etc, i unticked them and closed FF reloaded and checked again. Sure enough they were once again ticked ? I retried this several times with exactly the same result ? So i disabled Calomel and closed FF reloaded and checked again. This time they were NOT ticked, so it must be something to do with having Calomel enabled !

    I'm not sure why this should be, but it is.

    Can some of you try this and check your settings and see if it's repeatable on your comp.

    I don't want to write it off just yet as a faulty etc app, as the other things about it are very good. It's possible it's some kind of teething problem ? or only related to my system ? or ? Anyway whatever it is, i would like to sort it ASAP :thumb:
     
  8. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,115
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    As far as info is concerned, same little info is given by all browsers including firefox and that is most important info i think.

    Not aware about enforcing SSL though.
     
  9. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    confirmed, disabling leaves those check marks as set by the user. though I would not consider the check marks on FF security as faulty but rather a feature to enhance browser security. the search as you type thing though is questionable,
     
  10. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    then I am not sure what you like to discuss about this plug-in for FF?
     
  11. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,918
    @ vtol

    Hi,

    Thanks for the confirmation :thumb:

    Not if someone chooses to have them enabled sure, but no other Add On etc should override a users settings on other Add Ons. That's not what we expect, and is not something i've heard of happening before.

    Yes wierd o_O

    I've started a new thread to see if i/we can retain our about:config settings - https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=285619 - If so then Calomel is a definate keeper, if not :(
     
  12. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    that certainly true, yet this add-on is there to enhance/enforce browser security and hence activating those 2 security options in FF would make sense, from my point of view. yet, I am interested where this might lead to
     
  13. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,918
    @ vtol

    I'm going to try to contact them, though i'm not sure how much success i'll have as several of their www's seem to be down ?

    There is an email addy on the www linked to from Mozilla, but it looks incomplete ? I found another through whois -CALOMEL.ORG@domainsbyproxy.com- which is the one i thought of trying, but as it's through a 3rd party, dunno if they'll get it ?

    Their details seemed like they were active up to, i think it said 2012 !
     
  14. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,918
  15. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,918
    Re the SpellChecker in Calomel

    Good news :) After many tests, even though it's showing as ticked, it's not active :thumb:

    I think this "might" be due to my disabling SpellChecking in about:config ?

    Anyway as far as i can tell, frequently surfing all types of HTTP & HTTPS www's Everything is hunky dory with Calomel. So i'm reccommending you try it :thumb:
     
  16. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    the developer fixed it yesterday, referring to your findings here
     
  17. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,918
    @ vtol

    Thanks for the info :thumb:

    I've just updated & can confirm it's fixed :)

    I didn't get a reply to my email :( maybe they got it though, or somehow saw this thread ?

    Anyway ALL is well now :) People should try it as it's a Very good Add On to have :thumb:
     
  18. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,918
    Checking my Prefetch in FF

    There appears to be a discrepancy between the settings i made in about:config & the ones shown in the ones i selected in Calomel ?

    ac.gif

    With the following settings ticked i would expect to see these

    op.gif

    pr.gif

    In about:config set like this

    extensions.calomelsslvalidation.dns_prefetch = False

    extensions.calomelsslvalidation.prefetch = False

    But i see = True ?

    The ones i toggled in about:config are these

    network.dns.disablePrefetch = True

    network.dns.disablePrefetchFromHTTPS = True

    Could the Calomel TRUE showings be just because the way they have worded the entries, or should they be toggled to False ? Or have missed something/s ?

    TIA
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.