Calomel SSL Validation for FF

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by CloneRanger, Oct 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Found something which "might" turn out to be a gem of an Add On :)


    https://calomel.org/firefox_ssl_validation.html

    s.gif

    o.gif

    p.gif

    a.gif

    MORE
     
  2. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
  3. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    This one can do wonders if paid attention to. Definitely a keeper. Thanks:thumb:
     
  4. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    nice/interesting find, will give it go when it becomes available for the latest FF 4 64bit trunks
     
  5. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    This info is already in the browser I guess.

    Green- 256 bit encryption
    Yellow- 128 bit encryption
    Red- 128 bit encryption plus mixed content( https n http)


    Selection_001.png
    Selection_002.png
    Selection_003.png
     
  6. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    not really, you are talking about chrome and a tiny bit of SSL info, whilst it concerns FF and actually enforces/enhances SSL
     
  7. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Some weird things are happening since i installed this which i "think" is in some way connected with it ! I was trying out some malware links when one of them was intercepted !

    att.gif

    That should NOT happen as i unticked these boxes ages ago in Options

    op-sec.gif

    To my complete surprise i found them both ticked :eek: and not only those but this one too ?

    op-spel.gif

    To prove it wasn't a fluke etc, i unticked them and closed FF reloaded and checked again. Sure enough they were once again ticked ? I retried this several times with exactly the same result ? So i disabled Calomel and closed FF reloaded and checked again. This time they were NOT ticked, so it must be something to do with having Calomel enabled !

    I'm not sure why this should be, but it is.

    Can some of you try this and check your settings and see if it's repeatable on your comp.

    I don't want to write it off just yet as a faulty etc app, as the other things about it are very good. It's possible it's some kind of teething problem ? or only related to my system ? or ? Anyway whatever it is, i would like to sort it ASAP :thumb:
     
  8. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    As far as info is concerned, same little info is given by all browsers including firefox and that is most important info i think.

    Not aware about enforcing SSL though.
     
  9. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    confirmed, disabling leaves those check marks as set by the user. though I would not consider the check marks on FF security as faulty but rather a feature to enhance browser security. the search as you type thing though is questionable,
     
  10. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    then I am not sure what you like to discuss about this plug-in for FF?
     
  11. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    @ vtol

    Hi,

    Thanks for the confirmation :thumb:

    Not if someone chooses to have them enabled sure, but no other Add On etc should override a users settings on other Add Ons. That's not what we expect, and is not something i've heard of happening before.

    Yes wierd o_O

    I've started a new thread to see if i/we can retain our about:config settings - https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=285619 - If so then Calomel is a definate keeper, if not :(
     
  12. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    that certainly true, yet this add-on is there to enhance/enforce browser security and hence activating those 2 security options in FF would make sense, from my point of view. yet, I am interested where this might lead to
     
  13. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    @ vtol

    I'm going to try to contact them, though i'm not sure how much success i'll have as several of their www's seem to be down ?

    There is an email addy on the www linked to from Mozilla, but it looks incomplete ? I found another through whois -CALOMEL.ORG@domainsbyproxy.com- which is the one i thought of trying, but as it's through a 3rd party, dunno if they'll get it ?

    Their details seemed like they were active up to, i think it said 2012 !
     
  14. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
  15. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Re the SpellChecker in Calomel

    Good news :) After many tests, even though it's showing as ticked, it's not active :thumb:

    I think this "might" be due to my disabling SpellChecking in about:config ?

    Anyway as far as i can tell, frequently surfing all types of HTTP & HTTPS www's Everything is hunky dory with Calomel. So i'm reccommending you try it :thumb:
     
  16. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    the developer fixed it yesterday, referring to your findings here
     
  17. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    @ vtol

    Thanks for the info :thumb:

    I've just updated & can confirm it's fixed :)

    I didn't get a reply to my email :( maybe they got it though, or somehow saw this thread ?

    Anyway ALL is well now :) People should try it as it's a Very good Add On to have :thumb:
     
  18. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Checking my Prefetch in FF

    There appears to be a discrepancy between the settings i made in about:config & the ones shown in the ones i selected in Calomel ?

    ac.gif

    With the following settings ticked i would expect to see these

    op.gif

    pr.gif

    In about:config set like this

    extensions.calomelsslvalidation.dns_prefetch = False

    extensions.calomelsslvalidation.prefetch = False

    But i see = True ?

    The ones i toggled in about:config are these

    network.dns.disablePrefetch = True

    network.dns.disablePrefetchFromHTTPS = True

    Could the Calomel TRUE showings be just because the way they have worded the entries, or should they be toggled to False ? Or have missed something/s ?

    TIA
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.