Cacheman 5.5

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by FanJ, Jul 30, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

  2. DolfTraanberg

    DolfTraanberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    676
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Thanks, for the link, it's like a second life for our main server!
    Dolf
     
  3. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    You're welcome Dolf :)

    Keep us informed what your experiences are with it ;)

    Thanks, Jan.
     
  4. DolfTraanberg

    DolfTraanberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    676
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Well I didn't keep statistics, but what I see from the Taskmanager:
    avg -60% CPU usage
    avg -20% less RAM usage

    One bad thing: Now I have to wait another 6 months for a new server :mad:
     
  5. Andreas1

    Andreas1 Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Posts:
    367
    Location:
    Mainz (Ger)
    Hi all,
    Dolf, what OS is your server running? Also, do you *feel* any difference?

    I am asking because i have always been rather skeptical about memory management tools (see this article), and i would usually suggest getting a proper OS to deal with memory management properly. :rolleyes:
    But this skepticism was referring mostly to "cleaning up used memory", not to tweaking cache settings, let alone to handling swap operations etc.
    So i am probably not up-to-date in this issue, but after reading on it time and again, maybe it's time for me to acknowledge that there are some tools that deal with memory and "resources" that are worth a try... (and $10 for Cacheman doesn't seem that expensive).
    Only i won't trust benchmarks and statistics because i doubt that these reflect the general useability and responsiveness of the system. But i will trust if someone whose opinions i appreciate and know to be well-founded and reflected tells me that it "just feels" quicker...

    TIA,
    Andreas

    PS. Me being in linux mostly, I certainly won't spend money for such a tool, but maybe i should start looking around for a free one that performs similarly for my windows (2kPro) hours...
     
  6. DolfTraanberg

    DolfTraanberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    676
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    W2000 Advanced Server SP3 (PDC)+ MS Exchange 2000 + RRAS (Internetgateway + VPN server) .
    etrust + TDS + WG + ZA Pro (for outbound protection)

    233 megahertz Intel Pentium II
    32 kilobyte primary memory cache
    512 kilobyte secondary memory cache
    384 Megabytes Installed Memory

    the "feel" ??

    +300% faster network, but I assume you'll understand seeing these specs :D

    Dolf
     
  7. Andreas1

    Andreas1 Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Posts:
    367
    Location:
    Mainz (Ger)
    ...looks considerable then.
    Let's see if i can trial/use CacheMan or find something similar...
    Thx a lot,
    Andreas
     
  8. DolfTraanberg

    DolfTraanberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    676
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    I did install it on two legacy w2000 boxes as well and it is also a relief
    Dolf
     
  9. root

    root Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,723
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    Got to say thanks for the reminder Jan. I used to use Cacheman from the first version and quit using it a couple of years ago as it didn't seem to make much difference then.
    I downloaded the latest version and I must say, I noticed an immediate improvement. The internet even seems faster.
    I have Dell PIII 800MHZ with only 256Megs Ram, and Cacheman definitely helps in a situation like mine.
    Hope you like the cookie. It's chocolate chip. :D
     
  10. *Ari*

    *Ari* Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    Finland
    FanJ my friend....

    Once {upon a time} I warned about such tools as this "Cacheman" is.[ I got bad experience as a newbie user]. But I warned only because if newbies - I mean real newbie, not newbie on wilderssecurity- tries cacheman and it goes wrong....If I remember right I have once given some advices how to optimize windows virtual memory right. It is easy without any unnecessary applications, and what is the best part of this, newbies learn not to be afraid of computers. besides there are newbie friendly softwares available for free, forexample I myself run "Rambooster" time after time, not because of my v-memory was ran out but because I want to know how much is still left....occasionally only.
    http://www.sci.fi/~borg/rambooster/
    This tool doesn´t mess up any settings on puter and no need to run it all the time. It just needs to be configured for your total Ram first before using. Look here:
    http://www.billwinkle.org/rambooster/support/faq.html

    How to configure virtual memory fast and safe?

    in system.ini file you add under [vcache] <-this is already there:
    [vcache]
    MaxFileCache=
    MinFileCache=
    ChunkSize=512

    Now you have to set the right Max and Min values, don´t be afraid if you calculate lil bit higher than they really should be. I have 191 mb ram (integrated ram not counted) and my Max and Min values are 24576. Read this:
    http://www.inboost.com/pc-boost/ram-booster.html

    And further more this page:
    http://www.inboost.com/speed-tweaks/computer-tweaks.html
    There are some more tweaks I do not bother to tell, minor effects see..

    If you are not sure what are you doing and if you do not remember how to make it backwards, DON`T do anything. I just wanted to tell it can be done, without software solutions....but would be best to sacrifice some $$ and buy new memory.

    FanJ, forgive me ?

    Yours -Ari
     
  11. *Ari*

    *Ari* Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    Finland
    Quote Root:
    I forgot to mention...
    It really did. Almost the same effect: turn caching off on your Opera browser, and do this registry tweak:

    FOR FASTER WEB PAGE LOADING:

    This tweak will help web pages load faster, it has no real effect on download speeds, just helps your pc look up websites faster thereby speeding up how fast the page loads and making websurfing more enjoyable.

    Navigate to this registry entry and change the following settings:

    For XP & 2K

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic
    es\Tcpip\ServiceProvider

    For 98, 98SE & ME

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Servic
    es\VxD\MSTCP\ServiceProvider


    On the right for ALL OS's change these entries: (ALL values are HEXIDECIMAL)

    Class - 1
    DnsPriority - 1
    HostsPriority - 1
    LocalPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1

    Write down the current values PRIOR to changing them in case it doesn't work so you can revert back. To change the value right mouse click on the value and select modify and enter the values above once you have done all of them reboot to take effect and see how fast your pages load.

    ALWAYS REMEMBER BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY FIRST

    yours - Ari
     
  12. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Mmm...crunch...crunch...delicious ! :)
    Thanks Root !

    Somehow I seem to remember me that there were some postings about it long ago at the DCS-private-forum, but I have not yet searched for it, and besides that: we are not allowed to post links to such a thread outside that board so I will not do that ;)

    Cheers, Jan.
     
  13. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Hey Ari,
    Of course ! :)

    You gave some nice info !


    Thanks also to Andreas for his links and Dolf for his info !

    [hr]

    Well, about myself on my W 98 SE box:
    Until now I have only occasionally used that tool from AbpMon to which I pointed in the other thread (and TaskInfo2003 -also from Igor Arsenin- can do exactly the same). I hope to have a closer look at the other possibilities in the near future.

    Thanks !
    Jan.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.