Cable and ADSL routers.

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by tradetime, Oct 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tradetime

    tradetime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    Location:
    UK
    Hi, I currently have an ADSL internet connection and a Netgear router. I am moving soon and most likely to end up with cable internet. Is there a difference between the sort of router that handles ADSL and that which handles cable. (I have never used cable so am unfamiliar with it)
    Thanx
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    There is no difference afaik, just make sure your getting a dsl/cable router and not a router w/ modem.
     
  3. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Yep I can confirm there is no difference in the router for both of those internet connections. I've used my routers with both DSL and Cable before. On another note, DSL wil use a "PPPoE" connection and Cable will use "Automatic Connection DHCP" in the router setup.

    dja2k
     
  4. tradetime

    tradetime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    Location:
    UK
    Thanx for the replies, for some reason I had the impressin they were different, but never having used cable have no idea where I got that idea.
     
  5. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,740
    Location:
    Texas
    Some ISP's don't require PPPoE. In my case, I have a direct connection to a smaller provider.
     
  6. herbalist

    herbalist Guest

    My DSL comes from a smaller company as well. A neighbor on the next block uses the same company. We both have the same vendor supplied modem. Theirs is configured to use PPPoE while mine came configured in bridge mode. Their IP changes regularly. Mine never has. We have the same service, 864/160 DSL. With some providers, DSL service can be ordered either way.
    AFAIK, the routers are the same but the modems can be different.
    Rick
     
  7. tradetime

    tradetime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    Location:
    UK
    On further investigation a router for ADSL has an ADSL modem in built in order to interact with the phone line, a cable/DSL router does not, as the cable company provides its own cable modem. The main difference being the connection to source of signal. With cable the source of signal is the cable modem, and the router connects to this via an RJ 45 cable. With ADSL the source of the signal is the telephone point and the router, containing an in built modem, connects to this by means of an RJ 11 cable

    http://www.netgear.co.uk/home_newnetwork_routers.php
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.