C.I.S Updated 4.0.138377.779

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by andyman35, Mar 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    Changelog:

    Version 4.0.138377.779 : 24 March, 2010
    FIXED! Defense+ registry protection misses some keys in Classes root hive
    FIXED! Cfp.exe crashes while showing realtime virus detection alerts under certain conditions
    FIXED! Cfp.exe sometimes shows wrong sandboxed process notifications
    FIXED! Sandboxed IE8 can not save bookmarks
    FIXED! Some virtualized programs do not read/write registry keys properly
    FIXED! Some sandboxed applications do not disappear in active process list
    FIXED! CIS4 does not handle RDP session switching properly
    FIXED! Firewall rules can not be deleted under certain conditions
     
  2. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Well I don't see any improvements for how effective it works or reducing prompts through white-listing? Weird... :mad:
     
  3. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    so now how well does the sandbox work now? still issues?
     
  4. Melchi501

    Melchi501 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Posts:
    90
    "FIXED! Some sandboxed applications do not disappear in active process list"

    Not fixed for me... I can see them and terminate and block option do nothing.
     
  5. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA

    this update was to fix the issues of the sandbox and other bugs, that will come in version 4.1. soon the beta will be out.
     
  6. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Got it. Thank you
     
  7. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA

    you are getting alot of promts? im not, what settings are you using? im using the full suite tho.

    have you asked to have the apps added into the database so you dont get prompted anymore?
     
  8. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Most software that I use get a prompt that can't remember the answer (seriously... why they make it like that in the first place? o_O). I have to remember to add them to my exclusions to stop the prompting.

    All I'm asking for is that it starts recognizing software that's used by hundreds or hundreds and thousands of users.
     
  9. disinter1

    disinter1 Guest

    Tell me about it, while using M-Audio programs it would pop-up like crazy ~Possibly offensive phrase removed~ :(
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 24, 2010
  10. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA

    have you open up a thread on comodo's forums? maybe they have a reason or could be a bug that needs told about/fix? im not really sure.

    but your input would help them solve the issues.

    sorry i cant be more help.
     
  11. arjunned

    arjunned Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Posts:
    191
    I have also noticed that the location of the sandbox folder has changed, with this version.

    Question: Does the contents of the sandbox folder get deleted after all sandboxed applications are closed? (like sandboxie)
     
  12. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    its in the same location just under a different name, VritualRoot
    is the new name.

    why it was changed i have no clue.
     
  13. MisterMooth

    MisterMooth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Posts:
    39
    I can't believe they'd let a typo like that make it to the release
     
  14. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA

    i thought the very same thing.
     
  15. burebista

    burebista Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Posts:
    208
    Location:
    Romania
  16. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA


    yup i saw that odd :)
     
  17. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    If you're a member there, you can refer them to this and the previous thread at Wilders. I won't be active at their forums, so I won't go and register.
     
  18. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA

    ok tell me what your issues are and ill post a thread their.
     
  19. IBadget

    IBadget Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Posts:
    59
    Location:
    Waipahu, HI
    I believe that the name of the sandbox folder was changed because tzuk's Sandboxie owns the C:\Sandbox folder. The Comodo devs must have gotten a tongue-lashing from tzuk for stealing his sandbox folder.
     
  20. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Quoted from the discussion in the previous thread:


    "Things I wish were improved:

    1. MUCH less unrecognized software. It's unbelievable how many times I've had prompts just because CIS doesn't know what "X" is.

    2. A option to remember my answer for prompts even if it's not a specified vendor, so that I don't have to answer a prompt every time I open that same program."



    I should also add that unrecognized software means that it not only can get lots of prompts, it'll also be sandboxed in the end and that's an issue too if the software is legitimate and needs certain rights.
     
  21. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA


    you can add whole dictorys into you "my safe file" which is in the D+ area and then you should get popups that bad. the only thing i can say is just submit each software to comodo on their forum to be added.
     
  22. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Not sure what they did here but it's running a whole lot better than the previous version. The Sandbox now remembers not to put it in the Sandbox if you select that. I installed the FW with D+ Max protection and it's running great along with Avast 5.

    Ice
     
  23. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    got a question..can i use my regular sandboxie and turn comodo sandbox off?
    and where csn i find optimal settings for CIS.
     
  24. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Sure. There is a setting to turn off the Sandbox in CIS. I have my settings set to SAFE for the firewall and D+. I don't mind getting a few popups inititally. I am also using the Sandbox and they corrected a problem with it from the last version. SBIE is a great program.

    Ice
     
  25. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I'm liking comodo firewall. Its hard for me to swallow since I've been using OA++. Its hard to believe that a free product can be better than a paid one.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.