Bypass WGA?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Decapad, Aug 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Decapad

    Decapad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Posts:
    176
    Hi - My new Sony PC didn't have an XP recovery disk in the box. When I reinstalled XP recently- I borrowed a friends disk thinking no biggie. Turns out his was a crack copy & now I'm having trouble getting updates from Microsoft cause it's not passing Windows Genuine Advantage. This is so stupid to begin with because every computer comes with XP anyway. Anyhow - is there a way around it? (PS - I don't use SP2) Many thanks, Deca
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    u can still get updates from other sites and sources, but u wont get any help bypassing WGA.

    I also suggest you look at teh Genuine Microsoft software FAQ
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2006
  3. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    If you are meaning WGA validation....Wilders will not help people bypass the WGA Validation Check to download patches outside of the Microsoft license agreements as WSFuser alluded to.

    I would suggest contacting Sony PC in regards to sending you a copy for your XP installation.

    Bubba
     
  4. zcv

    zcv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Posts:
    355
    Even if not a "cracked" copy, it wouldn't have passed muster, can't install the same XP on more than one system.

    Regards - Charles
     
  5. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    IMHO Sony PC/Laptops normal come with a recovery partition wich can be accessed by your Control panel. This allows you to reinstall a valid OS ;)
     
  6. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    Your system should also have the license sticker on the side of the case (or bottom of the laptop). Regardless of the disk used to install, you should use that license key, which would keep your install legal.
     
  7. NGRhodes

    NGRhodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,331
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    The problem I have is that the key on my Dell laptop only works with the Dell oem version of win XP - might get a similar problem with this machine.
    The key that MS gets is a hash of your installation key and a xp version key (eg home, pro, various oems, generic oem, vlk versions etc), and if you use the wrong disc then even though you have a legit licence and key, you fail wga.

    I phone microsoft and they tell me that I have to go to Dell as its a special oem version (but Dell wont support me as a 2nd hand user).
    I had to resort to bypassing WGA using a cooperate version of XP (which we use at work).

    Decapad, when I get home I will provide you with information that will help.
     
  8. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Usually, a "Generic OEM" installation should work with a "vendor-specific OEM" installation key. I remember a long time ago that it was indeed possible to modify the Windows XP installation files to convert the Windows XP installation to the package of your choice (OEM installation, Upgrade installtion, VLK installation etc). I would not call this modification illegal because you have acquired a wrong disk and you want to use your legal CD-key to activate Windows. I'll see if I can dig that information up.
     
  9. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    True, if you have an OEM key then you do need to have an XP OEM install disk to use the same key, but if you can get such a disk then you can use the same key.
     
  10. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
  11. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    I tried this a while ago - I had an oem version installed with a recovery disk so I tried to use my retail disk with oem key and these changes to complete a repair install never managed to get it to work always rejected the key.


    Acer and Microsoft said talk to the other. In the end I just used the recovery disk.
     
  12. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    if you need updates,then goto autopatcher's website and download the update.
    i think your problem will be solved.
     
  13. NGRhodes

    NGRhodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,331
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Thanks Firecat !
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.