Bye Avira for ever

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by bollity, Jun 28, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bollity

    bollity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Posts:
    180
    The first antivirus that force you to install a junk toolbar. The ask installer is sitting in the avira folder and you can't even delete it.Well done avira !.
    I uninstalled avira and installed Avast.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      43.3 KB
      Views:
      820
  2. Dark_Hanzo

    Dark_Hanzo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    188
    Location:
    Canada
    Is this the free version or the premium?
     
  3. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,915
    Free version. The Premium wouldn't dare do this stuff to you.....
     
  4. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,030
    Location:
    United States
    Maybe because you forgot to disable the option to protect Avira's files and folders..? o_O Smh. :cautious:
     
  5. Night_Raven

    Night_Raven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Posts:
    388
    Give them some time... :)
     
  6. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    avast! is better in every way, so it's a win-win.
     
  7. bollity

    bollity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Posts:
    180
    I received this through regular update. I don't know about the full installer yet.
     
  8. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,030
    Location:
    United States
    After updating to SP2, you might notice that the extra self-protection options are enabled, which means deleting Avira's files aren't possible. If you did not already know, the webguard works even if you disable the toolbar.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1895754&postcount=75
    Like I had mentioned in that thread, the toolbar isn't half bad.
     
  9. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,918
    Not news, but still :thumbd:

    In about 30 days my v.9 free ends so i will have to install v.10. I'm looking forward to finding ways to defeat the Toolbar install ;) If it can't be done without breaking something/s, i'll just choose not to use it :p
     
  10. bollity

    bollity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Posts:
    180
    This toolbar is spying on us and send statistics about sites we visit.
     
  11. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    65,836
    Location:
    Texas
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.