BullGuard internet security

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Scotlarock2013, Mar 20, 2017.

  1. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    3,204
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
  2. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    3,204
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
  3. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,941
    i think yes for both
     
  4. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    3,204
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Thanks @gery :)
     
  5. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,024
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    @hawki

    No, BullGuard's new Behavioural engine is an evolution of NovaShield redeveloped from the ground up by BullGuard. BullGuard uses only the (offline) AV engine of BitDefender, it does not even use the BitDefender cloud. Every feature of BullGuard (2018 ) other than the Anti-Virus scan engine is independently developed and has no relation to BitDefender.
     
  6. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    3,204
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Thanks @Firecat :)

    Has BG been using it's version of Nova Shield for a while?
     
  7. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,024
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    It has been using NovaShield since around 2011. When the company (NovaShield) shut down, BullGuard bought all the technology, patents and absorbed it's employees. Current Behaviour blocker is no longer based on NovaShield as per BullGuard official statement, but a little fishing around says that a lot of the old code is still present - just that there is heavy modification now in version 2018.
     
  8. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,889
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    It actually runs light on my Win10 laptop.
     
  9. amico81

    amico81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2017
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Germany
    why use so few people bullguard? They have a dual engine and they new version is very light.
     
  10. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    6,106
    I don't think it can be configured to not automatically quarantine files, which is more than enough reason for me not to use it.
     
  11. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    702
    Location:
    Southwestern Massachusetts
    Well, some of us old-timers ARE using Bullguard; Firecat and I are (apologizes to Firecat for calling him old :rolleyes:. I AM old). I not only use it but recommend it on a regular basis with no complaints from those that took my advice.
     
  12. kronckew

    kronckew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    238
    Location:
    CSA Consulate, Glos., UK
    ditto :)

    p.s. - BG can be set to skip particular files from scanning if you are having trouble with it being cautious and quarantining. you can also report that file as a false positive to allow it in future.
     
  13. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,889
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Bullguard is a very effective av product I highly recommend it.
     
  14. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    3,204
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
  15. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,889
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I know it is generally not a good idea to run two Antivirus programs in real time. But I am at present running the latest Webroot beta along side BullGuard Internet security. They have been running together for about a week and so far there have been no conflicts they run very smoothly. I will run them together for a while longer and see if they continue to cooperate. I also have Zemana Antimalware running realtime.
     
  16. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    3,204
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Is the fact that two A/Vs appear to run OK together a good test? Isn't the meaningful test what happens when malware is encountered? Would the two A/V's get in each other's way thereby reducing the effectiveness of both?

    I am speaking generally here since Webroot has a track record of working well with most every other A/V.
     
  17. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    UK
    I just bought BullGuard IS on ebay for £6.69 one pc, one year...Very impressed so far.
     
  18. amico81

    amico81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2017
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Germany
    Habe a big problem with bullguard IS. After every shutdown my system freezes with a bluescreen after the update to the win 10 fall creators update​
     
  19. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,889
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I am running the latest win 10 fall creators update 1709 17025.1000 and have no issues with BullGuard.
     
  20. Marcelo

    Marcelo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    117
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
    It is always a good idea with any major Windows 10 update to uninstall security software before the update and then reinstall it after the update.
     
  21. Ferda

    Ferda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    I had exactly the same issue after falls update. This is something BullGuard need to look at.

    Installed NOD32 instead, nil issues, running very well indeed, thumbs up for ESET.
     
  22. Nevis

    Nevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    806
    Location:
    255.255.255.255
  23. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    3,204
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Hi @Nevis :)

    You installed it and only got a demo ?
     
  24. Nevis

    Nevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    806
    Location:
    255.255.255.255
    Yeah. Is there any country restriction ?
     
  25. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    3,204
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    I don't know, but I don't see any explicitly listed .

    Sorry the link I posted is causing you a problem (Gonna delete it )

    FWIW: On the so-called free license download page there's a link for live support chat:

    https://www.bullguard.com/thankyou.aspx?&pid=3
     
Loading...